Lucid Dreaming Part 1

in #dreams7 years ago

Lucid Dreaming Part 1


pexels-photo.jpg

Ordinary dreams

are a lot like an amusement park ride you didn’t choose to get on the ride, there are strange things all around you that seem real, and you’re forced to experience everything that comes. You possibly could have the ability to react, but you cannot get off the ride, whether you like it or not.
germany-duisburg-tiger-turtle-106155.jpeg

Lucid dreams

are like exploring an amusement park that you built yourself. Not only can you go wherever you want, but you can also choose to do anything you want, It is your world. Want to fly like a Neo from "The Matrix"? It’s possible I have done it at ease from lots of practice. Want to confront your fears with courage? No sweat. Want to hang out with your favorite celebrities? You most definitely can. Imagine going to bed every night and experience things you could never experience in life, then waking up still feeling refreshed and rested!! That’s lucid dreaming.
pexels-photo-388657.jpeg
With a look into history, lucid dreaming was an experience used by Buddhists, Hindu, Sufi and Shamanic traditions among more. Some even suggest that the Tibetan shamanic tradition knew much about lucid dreaming and utilized it for more than 5,000 years. Books written in the 70's by authors Celia Green, Patricia Garfield, and Carlos Castaneda took on the subject of lucid dreaming and provided some information about it. It was not until the emergence of scientific evidence for lucid dreaming to start being taken seriously.
thailand-buddhists-monks-and-50709.jpeg
Thanks for reading!! Part 2 will be out soon and will be on how to lucid dream!!! Feel free to follow!!

Sort:  

I began learning about lucid dreaming when I was deployed to Afghanistan with the USAF. In such chaos I was looking for things I could control and get away from the current circumstances. I would lay in my spank tank at night and listen to bineural beats with my headphones trying to extract my soul from my body. I got so close several times but would panic and settle back into my body. Trying to fight the bodies natural tricks to make you itch and ache were tiresome and most times I would fall asleep unable to lucid dream or create an astral projection. This post just made me realize I need to write a blog post about how I FINALLY had a lucid dream about a month ago without even trying.

In a nutshell, during my dream, I looked at a clock on my stove, the digits were blue. And I couldn't read them. They were doing all kinds of funky stuff and I realized I was dreaming, things got incredible after that. I'll put together a blog post in the coming weeks. I wrote it in my dream journal.

Thanks for inspiring me to create a new piece of content!

wow very awesome!! thank you for your service!! im glad i was able to help inspire you !!

This is fabulous stuff and looking forward to your future post. I had experimented with some apps based on binaural tones to stimulate brainwave frequencies associated with various states of mind.

It would be great to get the perspective from an actual practioner.

Thank you!! im glad you enjoyed it!! and i agree that would be great!!

I have one every now and then, and sometimes I even have the same exact dream! It's crazy because in my dream I already know what's going to happen, so I can actually alter my dreams outcome! It's still very challenging to control everything in a repeat dream though.

very cool!! i have had the same repeat dreams as well i love when those happen!!

Wow I had no idea your reputation is already 50 <3 Thats awesome Mike!

Lucid dreaming is strange, but always a pleasant experience. Most people experience it accidentally every now and then, but it's possible to train your brain to make it happen regularly.

The one big drawback is that it can make reality seem pretty unremarkable by comparison, but it also nurtures the mind and imagination in a way that can make your waking reality more meaningful.

And it's completely harmless fun. More people should try it.

Nice post, looking forward to part two! Carlos Castaneda definitely got me interested in lucid dreaming (and tripping) - it's an incredible experience.

I love lucid dreaming, I started doing so as a teenager and then slowed down for awhile. I used binaural tones, crystals and brainwave stimulation at different frequencies to induce a lucid dream. Now they happen all the time without any effort. It is fun to watch yourself creating your reality and knowing that you are doing so.

so cool!! i'm enjoying reading everyone's experiences!!

Congratulations @woundedknee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I actually experienced this while tripping

tripping? really ? on what LOL

very cool!!thanks for reading!!

Funny many moons ago I was on Acid and manged to control where I was going by pointing and I shot through my finger and ended up where I pointed. Not sure on the reality of this but seemed real at the time :)

Depends on your chakras and what you're capable of doing

Ah didn't know that. Well I'm working on opening my chakras so it'll come :)

Congratulations! It's amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85