If I Had Three Wishes, OR, Daring To Dream

in #dreams5 years ago (edited)


IF I had three wishes, what would they be?

On the Steem platform, challenges keep making the rounds. Someone will come up with a theme, write a post and then nominate others to carry on with the theme. I don’t always participate when nominated. Other times the challenge will sit on my to do list for a while before I’ll finally tackle it.

A while ago, @guiltyparties put out a challenge for people to write about what they would want if they had three wishes. It was pretty simple:

Make a post with the three wishes
Mention someone who like this sort of thing
Use the #three-wishes tag

A few days later others — @sgt-dan, @blind-spot, @inthenow and @snook — decided that I should be tagged. And there sat the challenge on my to do list. I think they did this to taunt me. To keep on nipping at my heels reminding me I’d not yet risen to this challenge.

I’ve always been a person who tends to view wishes as ‘wishing doesn’t make it true’. As I kept mulling this over, I kept swinging between wish big cause they wont happen and be practical, you never know what might happen.

And then — it hit me.

Wishes are dreams. We don’t think twice about having dreams in our life. In fact, identifying our dreams and then working to make them happen is a driving force in most lives worth living.

What would your life be without having dreams of making things better? Or dreams of the adventures you want to have? The dreams of how you’d make the world better if you had the resources? The person you want to be?

My life without dreams would be bloody boring. I could see myself staring endlessly, pointlessly, vacantly at a computer screen or a TV. Not knowing, or not caring what I was going to do next because — what’s the point. If there’s nothing to dream for, why is life worth living.

My wishes don’t have to be crazy, wild or impossible. They can be if I decide they are. My wishes can be currently out of reach, but reachable if I really put my mind to them.

So, here goes nothing.

1. Write and publish that first book.
Yep, this one is doable. Just as soon as I plant my butt in the chair, decide on the topic and put those fingers on the keyboard. OH, some research would be a good start. The only thing stopping this wish from coming true is my own actions and determination.

2. That brand new, ranch style bungalow with wrap around veranda.
I’ve always loved those older homes with the verandas where you could sit down and enjoy being outside in any weather. Well, maybe not in the winter unless you really enjoy Canadian winters outside.

This one is doable. It may will mean I have to write and do a really good marketing job on more than one book. Several are going to be needed to get this accomplished. They had better be good. I think my butt may need to be glued to the chair for a time.

3. Would not be me if one wishes didn’t involve building community by helping others.
Anyone who knows me, knows volunteerism and helping others has been a big part of my life. When we give our time, talent and treasures to help others who are less well off, we build strong communities.

I’ve given thousands of hours of time and talent over the years. My last wish would be to use treasures earned from writing to donate funds toward worthy causes of my choosing.

I think I better plan on getting a really comfortable chair. The more wishes I think of, the more writing will be needed to make them happen.

I didn’t have to tie my wishes to writing but, if I’m going to make the wishes into dreams to work toward, tying them to writing just makes sense.

So, don’t feel you have to make your wishes based on writing. Feel free to do so though, or any other tasks you want to undertake to change your future.

Also, don’t wait to be tagged. Be inspired and write your own wishes down.

Just in case you need some nudging, I’ll nominate: @isaria, @rhondak, @enchantedspirit, @artemisnorth

There you go. Enjoy. Spread the love when you’re done.




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://idesofmay.com/2019/03/19/if-i-had-three-wishes-or-daring-to-dream/

Sort:  

Once again you wrote with heart and you made me think.

I so love this and your writing. Bravo. and now you know why we tag you!!!

Fantastic!

Been waiting to see what you write!

I love these and your heart makes me smile ❤️

I am so glad that you... Answered the challenge! Always good to hear from you and your thoughts.

@shadowspub Tried and True. A Queen of Steem!

Hi, @shadowspub!

You just got a 0.21% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

:-D Awesome Dreams, I hope that they become your reality! And I see what ya did there... went from taunt, to you nudging LOL! :-)

Hi @shadowspub!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.089 which ranks you at #292 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 377 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 434 (03/20/19)

These are great wishes/dreams Shadows!
And now this post is in my tabs......taunting me!❤️

I am really glad that finally you have decided to write your three wishes... I wish you good-luck.. Hopefully one day your all dreams will come true..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56905.21
ETH 2508.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36