How is it possible to dream the future?

in #dreams6 years ago

I have had the experience of dreaming the future more than once. I know I am not the only one who can do this. It is rare but true and that makes me question what we know about time.
I want to tell my stories for others to learn from. I dont know what it all means so I will stick to the facts that I remember. I swear everything I say here is true to my memory although it has been years since the events.
The cop scenario
My drug of choice was illegal for most of my youth. This created a fear of police within me that is hardwired. On the surface I appreciate the function the police provide society. Deep in my neurons they are also the ones with the power to opress me. So any interaction is a brush with death in a way and it sticks out in my mind and in my timeline. Police have made more than one appearance in my dreams before an interaction takes place in my reality. I usually remember them with a single image that triggers deja vu. The image of me looking out of my front door talking to three officers for instance. Along with the image it is common to get an emotion in this case it was relief. And in my reality it was very much felt when they asked if I knew why there was a stolen car parked in front of my house. Relief that they werent going to harm me because I did not know anything about the stolen car.
That was an example of what I call deja vu dreams. Sometimes though they are a lot more vivid and filled with detail.
My dream started with me looking out of a common scene to me. I work in a garage, a 10 car garage with large bay doors that overlook a paved alley then a large parking lot. In my dream I noticed a white suv went past more than once. This raised my suspicion so I started watching for more signs. I surveyed the area and found that I could see the suv's nose peeking around the farthest buiding. Then I noticed what I could only describe as a sniper at his post hiding behind another small building. He was trained on me, or at least my location. I am very confrontational so it was no suprise that my reaction was to walk directly to the sniper. He tried to use hand signals to shoo me away. In my mind this was my work location, he was hiding near my car, I had every right to know what was going on so I continued my approach. When I got within thirty feet he gave up his concealed position and came towards me yelling. I could now see his police uniform. He is mad at me for giving away his position and giving the criminal a chance to get away. The dream ended with me arguing with the officer. The emotion it left me with was defiance.
I shared the dream with a coworker. He laughed and asked what kind of deepseated fear of police I must have. But I shared it with him in detail and that made him look at me differently after the actual event happened about a week later.
The actual event occured on my day off. It was my routine to stop by work to sign off on biweekly paperwork. So I was at work but parked in the alley between bay doors, my dog was in the car so I was keeping a keen eye on the area. Sitting in the middle of the garage was a lifted ford f350 big monster of a truck that my coworker was working on. The owner of the truck was in the bay and we started talking about doing cameras on the back to help him see. We were there in the back for somewhere between five to ten minutes just shooting the shit. I stepped outside of the bay doors for a cigarette and as I surveyed the scene I got the deja vu experience when I saw the nose of a white suv peeking around the same building. About that time a minivan came down the alley. A red flag allerted that I had seen this minivan drive past already. I watched as it drove past slowly. Totally blacked out tint. I live in the desert so it is not uncommon to see a car with even the windshield tinted. Not a minivan though..This stood out to me and raised a few mental flags. AZ license plate nothing out of the ordinary as it heads down the alley and away. I flick my cigarette and walk back inside the bay. I continue chatting with the customer but keep an eye out the bay doors.
There it is again, the minivan has turned and circled ending up driving across the large parking lot. I have the thought of pointing this out to my coworker who is distracted in the truck. Then the thought of mentioning to the guy next to me that that was the third time that minivan had passed. In the end I kept my mouth shut and eyes open. Walking and chatting I end up leading the guy to the bay doors where we stand 10 feet from the alley.
Their approach was perfect. The sliding door was open on the minivan as it came skidding to a stop in the alley. One officer jumped out of the open door gun drawn. It took a second to register that they were pointed at the guy standing next to me. As they shouted show me your hands Joe. My instinct was to show hands and at the same time take sideways steps away from who it was clear they were after. Five more officers poured into the bay and they took the customer without any resistance.
I dont know what to make of the fact that some moments are seared into our brains. So much so that they break arrow of time that governs our life. Is it possible that at the moment of death time dialation effects take place during the replay of our life events? Making a brief instance stretch out to what we consider a lifetime? Is this some kind of a groundhog day multiple universe multiple choice? If time symmetry can be broken how do we use it?
Not all my deja vu dreams involve cops. They all carry strong emotions though. It seems to be the emotions that have the most bleedthrough.
I once had a dream that my car was "totaled". I was standing in the dark with lights shining down on a broken unusable car. That emotion was strong just the helplessness of my car being really broken was passed down in the dream. At the time I imagined damage from a wreck maybe crinkled hood and fenders were presented as images but what stood out the most was what I had not come up with on my own just the darkness contrassed by the lights above shining on a broken car.
Weeks later I worked late and it was dark before I walked to my car. I found that someone had slashed all four tires. My car was parked next to a large building with outdoor lights shining down on my car sitting on rims. The emotion was very much there even though the images were slightly different.
In the end it all worked out fine, I drove a few hundred feet to get to an air chuck. I used a plug kit to fix all four and drove away an hour later. But for that brief instant I felt like my car was completely broken. And that is what it takes to break the time barrier? I dont get it.

Sort:  

@relativity, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

I am very confrontational so it was no suprise that my reaction was to walk directly to the sniper.
It should be surprise instead of suprise.

Im suprised you only fond one stop making fun of my lisp bruh. I mean thanks for pointing that out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42