The gift of discernment: I am against those who prophesy false dreams, declares the LORD. Jeremiah 23:32

in #dreams2 years ago

All prophecy must be discerned, the Bible explains to us, as happened to King Ahab who, doubting false prophecies, went to consult the prophet Micaiah, in 1 Kings 22:19-23, who revealed the truth to the King.
In the Old Testament, the prophet Jeremiah condemns religious oppression and the false prophets, many probably related to Baal worship, who deceived the people with false visions and dreams:
"´Therefore,´ declares the LORD, ´I am against the prophets who steal from one another words supposedly from me. Yes,´ declares the LORD, ´I am against the prophets who wag their own tongues and yet declare, ´The LORD declares.´ Indeed, I am against those who prophesy false dreams,´ declares the LORD. ´They tell them and lead my people astray with their reckless lies, yet I did not send or appoint them. They do not benefit these people in the least,´ declares the LORD." Jeremiah 23:30-32.
The gift of discernment. I am against those who prophesy false dreams, declares the LORD. Jeremiah 23,32.jpg
Discernment is commonly understood as the ability to separate good from evil, understood in this way, we all discern. But spiritual discernment, the discernment as a spiritual gift, is closely linked to prophecy, discerning when a prophecy is false and when it is true is fundamental, a prophecy can involve knowledge of future events or the hidden of God and providence: "Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know", Jeremiah 33:3.
The function of the prophet is not to please powerful men, as some flatterers of the king advised Micaiah in front of Ahab in 1 Kings 22:13, but to correct and teach the simple and common people the correct way.
The apostle John warns us: "Dear friends, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world", 1 John 4:1.
For more information visit my profile follow the link and download for free my ebook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67851.31
ETH 3815.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77