[Dream Report] Plague of the Twisted Flesh

in #dreams8 years ago


source

I've had plenty of zombie dreams. Most of them would basically fit right in on The Walking Dead. I'm fleeing zombies with friends, some of whom I haven't seen since highschool. We flee by car or sometimes helicopter, someone gets bitten and we have to kill them, all the usual tropes.

This one was different. They weren't zombies, exactly. I don't really know what to call it, I have no basis for comparison. They looked like regular humans until, without warning, they split apart into tangled fucked up monstrosities of distorted flesh. Very much like the surprise transformations seen in the remake of The Thing, but more rapid.

They had black blood inside. It splattered and gushed everywhere as they erupted out of their human disguise. They would emit ear piercing shrieks of terror and confusion, as if they didn't even know they weren't really humans until that exact moment.

I was barricaded inside a tiny apartment with big windows overlooking the city, watching the news. Nobody had any info on what the creatures were, how the plague spread or how to kill them. You could chop them into tiny bits and even the bits would keep coming after you.

We were cautioned not to burn them as it may release spores or in some other way facilitate the spread. There were no identifiable patterns in who transformed or why. They would just seize up, shriek in a shrill, inhuman pitch, and split apart into a thrashing greasy black mass of tendrils and entrails.

Worse, when near one another they would reach out with their tendrils and merge into a single patchwork organism. A deluge of these things was coming out of the hospital for some reason. Maybe it's some experimental drug? Maybe they were doing genetic experimentation there?

To my abject confusion, there was a debate format talkshow on in which one of the guests was arguing that the creatures represented a new form of life we had no right to kill on sight. That for all we know, they're trying to communicate with us or something.

To say shit like that while these things are spreading like wildfire seemed suicidal. Then that guy split apart into a shrieking, gushing mass of oily fluid and tendrils. The audience could be heard screaming, climbing over each other to escape. The other guy shattered a glass case, retrieved a flamethrower from inside and used it to immolate the monstrosity.

I began to panic, wondering if I might be one of those things and not even realize it. I looked at myself in the mirror, scrutinizing my own face. I could see nothing out of the ordinary, but continued to agonize over the possibility that I'd split apart at any moment.

I went to the roof of my apartment. There was a radio antenna up there for some reason, like at a radio station. I used those long handled shears sometimes used to remove locks to topple the tower against an adjacent building, so I could climb over it from one to the next.

Conveniently, thanks to dream logic, there was always something or other I could use to cross from rooftop to rooftop. A billboard I tipped over, for example. I stopped when I saw a man far below shooting lightning out of his hands.

He ran into a skyscraper. I have no idea how I got inside, but the next thing I knew I was inside the skyscraper in what looked like a computer room, reading their files. I found out this company was behind experiments involving quantum entanglement that allowed the plague to enter our dimension.

I burst into a meeting room and confronted them about it. There were several serious looking men and women in business suits. Their features were perfect and chiseled. Their hair was so orderly and shiny, it looked like plastic lego man hair. I demanded explanation.

They said they never meant for this to happen. They showed me an anatomical model of a human being to simulate how the plague grows inside the body, corrupting it until only the skin is human, with everything beneath being that foul alien black shit. Then it hatches.

The model was eerily lifelike. It even had a motorized breathing function, the lungs inflating and deflating. The eyes pivoted to look at me. It split apart into one of those creatures, somehow, despite never having been alive. One of the business suit guys shot lighting out of his hands at it, making it explode in a shower of flaming ashes.

His eyes glowed and his hands still crackled. He explained that the same accident which released the plague also gave some people the power to fight these creatures with electrical abilities. But that it could wait, since they were busy deciding which videogame projects to fund development of.

I couldn't believe what I was hearing. The city was overrun by monstrosities and all they could think about was how to sell shit to people. They said I wouldn't be so negative if I tried out the game they were funding development on. So I relented, and tried it out.

It was on some weird console with a laptop style flip up screen. It was not backlit but was very crisp. I was playing a game about our exact situation. I controlled a guy that looked like me, in the meeting room of a skyscraper, in a city being overrun by those greasy black oil monsters.

I tried to make my character attack the business suited NPCs. They told me to calm down and try this game they were working on. So I did, and the game was just the same thing. It went on like that until I was in a game playing a game in a game in a game in a game. I realized what was happening and tried to "pull out".

When I did, it was like a fast, whooshing retreat through frame after frame around the console's screen. Like when you point a camera at the monitor its feed is displaying on and it creates an endless recursive feedback loop, but I was traveling backwards through it trying to reach reality.

But when I pulled all the way out and was back in reality, I didn't stop in time. I continued to withdraw out of the dream itself. That's when I awoke. My goal had only ever been to stop the plague. Somehow I got side tracked by something totally irrelevant. It was a trap that just got me stuck deeper and deeper into something irrelevant to my goals.

If I were to take anything away from this, I guess it would be to stay focused on what it is I want to achieve, and not allow myself to get sucked into quagmires like fruitless arguments, vices, overindulgence in general, whatever is irrelevant to accomplishing what will bring me lasting fulfillment in my life. Also (maybe?) not to lose sight of what is real.

Incidentally, this would later become the basis of many interconnected stories I wrote, such as A to B, Only Erratics Recognize, and The Epiphany of Mrs. Kugla It is also touched on less directly in The Resurrection Men, The Resurrection War and The Black Pool, which explore the origin and properties of the black substance.

Sort:  
Loading...

To tell you the truth, I could never figure out that fascination with monsters, vampires, werewolves, zombies and all other spooky non-life. I think these imaginary horror stories are implanted in the public consciousness to cover the real problems, those that you’ve covered in your other article about upcoming robotic revolution that will leave millions of people without work. That’s a really horrific perspective, compared to which these black blooded monsters are members of Sunday school.
As always, impressed with your writing technique.

Wow. If I ever need someone to hack into a person's dream so I can implant a memory, I know who to call.

What kind of memories ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

a memory that makes a whale upvote all my stuff. :laughing:

I have found a pretty new definition of zombies. To make you more afraid. Take this „Zombie“– episode of Dr. Who. It is one of the latest eposode and there are zombies out of second dimension.
http://all.theglobalpoint.com/2014/10/doctor-who-episode-9-recap-terror-in-two-dimensions/

„Nice“ does'nt describe the pic. For me it's dazing.

Oh man, with dreams like that, who needs to watch horror movies? I'd say you've been playing too many video games! Although weird dreams do make great inspiration for stories. I heard that many of Stephen King's books were inspired by dreams he had. Do you sleep with a pad of paper nearby so you can write them down as soon as you wake up?

No, I use mnemonics. I pick a word representing each major "scene", then just repeat that string of words to myself over and over. Later on, thinking of each of those words dredges up that whole scene, or most of it. Then I stitch them together into what seems like the most logical order, and write about it.

Nice memory trick. Thanks for sharing your sources of inspiration with us!

This is horrifying but so fascinating. I'm really enjoying reading these dreams. Do you enjoy having them, or are they too disturbing?

I have enough mundane, "I'm back in high school, naked, and failing biology" type dreams, that I get excited when I have a dream that's half as interesting as yours. Even if it scares the hell out of me. But maybe it would get old to have them all the time.

I enjoy having them. I do not process fear of personal harm correctly. That's not me trying to sound like I'm fucking batman or some badass person, the necessary connection between danger to my bodily wellbeing and fear in my brain is broken. Instead I just get really excited because something unusual and interesting is happening. I can be startled, and feel anxiety though.

I also am a strict materialist, so it's impossible to be scared by stuff like ghosts or anything supernatural. I recall when I was in scouts, We were telling each other ghost stories around the fire, then they dared someone to go get some dr peppers from the bus.

I ran and did it without issue. They were impressed until I told them I wasn't scared because ghosts are impossible, since to see them photons would have to bounce off them into our eyes, which could not happen if they are immaterial. Likewise they would have to vibrate the air to make any sound, and be tangible in some way to harm a physical person.

I am scared of losing people I love. That's a lot more realistic than bogeymen, demons or ghosts. It doesn't "jump out at you", usually it happens very slowly as you must sit there and watch, powerless to stop it. That sort of slow, grinding, hollowing fear is worse than anything I could conjure up in writing.

Damn. I was hoping you were batman. ;-)

Maybe the connection in your brain between bodily well being and fear isn't broken. Maybe it works just like it's supposed to. Without people who get excited and explore scary things while everyone else is huddling in fear, we probably would have died out a long time ago.

Well, Batman and I have never been seen together in the same room. Just saying.

I'm sure there are upsides, but I have no compunctions about frank self-analysis. I am brutal with myself because in the opposite direction lies dunning krugeritis and various other forms of narcissistic self-delusion. If I cannot accurately gauge my own strengths and weaknesses, I will really be in trouble.

The result is that I make wildly varying first impressions on new people depending on whether they first hear me talking about areas I think I am strong in ("Oh, he's arrogant") or areas I'm weak in ("he's a depressive sadsack").

It seems a totally alien concept for some people that I would, for example, have no reservations describing autism as a mental disorder or myself as mentally defective to a degree. My own life experience bears that out. There are good reasons evolution has decided that human brains, by and large, should not work this way. Trust me when I tell you it has hindered more than it has helped.

So it goes with everything else about me. Where I am deficient, I acknowledge it, because otherwise I cannot know where to focus my efforts at self improvement. Where I am strong, I allow myself to say so, because that should be one of the rewards for developing a talent.

I am 33 now and by this point perfectly comfortable being a strange, flawed, mixed bag of a person. Not in the sense that I am done trying to improve, but I don't need to hold an artificially elevated view of myself in order to get out of bed in the morning.

Sweet of you to say, though. I certainly appreciate the sentiment.

I have some well meaning friends who insist my deficiencies are inseparable from my strengths and having them is just an alternative way of being. This makes me want to kick them. They may be right, but it minimizes the difficulties those weaknesses cause. I'm not sure why I did the same thing to you, but you're welcome to give me a good cyber kick if you'd like. ;-)

Also, I don't know how I got by all these years without knowing the term dunning krugeritis. Thank you for rectifying that. I suppose it's useless to point it out to someone who has it, but I'm happy to know it anyway.

You're a really interesting person. If you hit me up on FB (https://www.facebook.com/AlexBeyman/) I think we'd have a lot to discuss.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49