The Hotel California: My Recurring Dream about Bitcoin

in #dream7 years ago

This dream isn’t always set in California, but has been in multiple places in the USA such as North Carolina, Florida, etc. It starts out being on a long road trip across the country. I’m driving alone and there’s a sense of urgency in getting there but the destination is not defined. I’m driving non-stop until I feel like I’m about to drop and just then I see a hotel and check into it. It’s expensive, but I think to myself that it’s just for one night. So the clerk takes my information and says I can go to my room. I fall asleep before my head hits the pillow.

Screen Shot 2018-02-23 at 11.28.19 AM.png
(taken March 2003 near Bad Water, California)

I wake up with maids fixing up the room. I’m wondering if I overslept checkout time and find out that I was actually asleep for about a full day. But they said not to worry, charges don’t apply until you check out. So I get distracted by a lot of little things, like why there are curtains on the hanging wall mirror. Gradually the sense of urgency subsides and I’m content to stay where I am and am focused on trivial matters. Time passes, months in fact until one day I wonder what the balance is which is usually about 4 - 6 months after I initially checked in.

Sometimes this hotel turns into a hospital and the maids into nurses and I’m waiting until I’m well enough to leave. There’s this sense that it’s not easy for me to move because of contraptions attached to me. Are these contraptions there to help me, or are they meant to hold me back? Maybe that “or” should be an “and” instead. But the dream ends with the realization that my bitcoin balance is zero.

Dream Analysis

source.gif
source

I’m not a dream interpreter, but my waking thoughts after realizing that I just had to spend all my bitcoin to get out of hock was that the system was trying to drain me. Each time this dream happens, the hotel/hospital bill was exactly the same as my bitcoin balance. I think this dream is about wanting to be free, but being attached to the system. It seems to be about the sacrifices we make for convenience. The price for convenience is too high and I think the world is waking up to this fact.

There’s also this sense of too much exposure and not enough privacy. The fact that public ledger technology is trackable, that authorities know exactly how much they can drain you, is a warning sign that money has become a system of control.

So I guess the moral of the story is if you don't want to lose your bitcoin (or freedom), don't fall asleep.


Donations (public bitcoin address):
donatebitcoin.png
3FwxQsa7gmQ7c1GXJyvDTqmT6CM3mMEgcv


steemit-footer.png


Sort:  

Or from authority's perspective..."Don't fret precious, I'm here. Step away from the window and go back to sleep."

You may check in but you may never leave... (if you want to keep your bitcoin)

Excellent story ..I impress read your story..

basa koi bro?

Shariatpur apnr..Koi

kichu korsi na just bose asi

01772402367 imo te asen

sound's good and looks nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47