Dreamer by Ruben Rojas

in #dream7 years ago

"Dreamer" by Ruben Rojas with BeautifyEarth.Org
Venice, Ca

For many reasons this was an obvious mural I had to capture.
With my 3 yr old daughter in tow, I included her in a few shots and sent them to my mom.
I was surprised when she asked if this was for the "DREAMers"?
After a short explanation I was amazed that my mom was still schooling me in my 40's on current events.
I started my research and found the Dream Act.
The Dream Act ( Development, Relief, and Education for Alien Minors Act)
The goal was to find a way for undocumented minors who arrived in the USA as children to gain access to legal status.
Under certain requirement applicants must have arrived as a child, have been in the USA for at least 5 years,
have been schooled in American schools in addition to not having any other immigration violations.
Since it's introduction in 2001 as a bipartisan bill in the Senate, there have been many versions and attempts to pass a form of the "DREAMers" bill.
Although I am uncertain whether this mural's artist had the Dream Act in mind when creating this piece it gives it an additional layer of meaning and beauty.
Hope I was able to shine a light and possibly spark your interest on learning more about the "DREAMers" of America.
Dream On!
image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55