Dreading Life Over Time- History of My Dreadlocks

in #dread8 years ago

Dreading my hair began with a lazy two weeks living on Hawaii in 2007. I started with just two dreads, 6 years later 47 dreads have been created.
They style I achieved has always been the partially committed style (loose hair in the front and dreads in the back) as I have fine curly hair in the front of my head. In reality this style had me feeling like a modern mullet girl.
I am creating this history at a time I'm my life that I am ready to transition out of dreading life.

My Hair at the beginning of the trip before my hair started dreading on its own. 2007

In these pictures I had two hair wrapped dreads under all my hair. 2009/'10

Here are a few pictures of my hair during the first year of the dreading process.

I started really Dreading more and more of my hair in 2010. I moved to Hawaii and would just run my fingers through my hair. I didn't ever brush it. I also didn't part out the sections. They were just naturally created by the way my hair curls together. I thought this was cool at the time to have semi natural dreads. After time and even more now I think that in the future I will part out my dreads in honu (turtle) shell shaped parts. being sure that they are all similar in size and near the thinnest size dread I currently have.

These are the one year anniversary photos I took. May 2011

Pretty proud of how they look here. I really like how they started dreading and left the tips curly still. Over the years most of the tips dreaded as well. Last year I combed out a few of the tips to get the curly tips back.

I'm happy I dreaded my hair when I was 18. It was a great experiment and nice to have a new look.
Looking forward to sharing photos from the 5 years that followed the photos posted above.
Can't wait to have my curly hair back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59248.66
ETH 2601.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43