Drawitbetter Contest #11 Mountains

in #drawitbetter7 years ago

Hello Everyone!🎨 This is my entry post to the Draw it better contest held by @sirsensei. This week the theme was mountains. I have been doing a lot of digital lately so I wanted to get back to practicing with painting.

I use Liquitex basics and Liquitex professional heavy body acrylics on a Fredirix 8''x10'' canvas pad. Here's a snipit of the process.

I'm still very much learning this medium. I started with the sky, you want to work back to front with acrylics usually.

Then I started blocking in my mountains. You also want to try and work from dark to light.

Here I'm trying to get some texture in my mountains.

I did some glazing to get some of the sky color on part of the clouds and mountains. I think I will still try and work on this one but overall for now the final painting isn't too bad. Hope you like it 🙂

Thank you for looking 😁

Sort:  

Nice work! Thank you for your post & good luck with tbe contest! :)

Thank you, these contests are so fun and a good way for me to get practice in and meet new people in the art community here. I appreciate that you offer these :)

This is beautiful, it's nice to see the progression as well. Keep up the good work!

Wow @renascence, this is my favorite piece of artwork you’ve done in my opinion the way you painted the sky is incredible. You gave it that perfect curve to the horizon, that’s not easy. The details and colors of the mountains are also perfect in my mind.

Oh thank you! : ) I had some decent reference to help figure that out.

Beautiful, love the blue and orange colour combination. Well done! :D

Thank you! : ) It took a lot of youtube tutorials to get a blue like that funny enough, I guess the one blue I had was incapable of ever making a nice light blue. Interesting fact I suppose.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57