Drawitbetter Contest #11 | THE RAVINE

in #drawitbetter6 years ago (edited)

woods.jpg

Only the bravest dare to cross the Ravine

Teacup Border.JPG

When most people think of mountains, inevitably a long stretch of mountain range is the first thing that comes to mind. That's what I thought of drawing at first. But I wanted to do something a little different, so decided to do a ravine: a deep, narrow gorge with steep sides. I dunno, there's something edgy, dangerous and exciting when you see a really steep and deep ravine, especially when there are daredevil parachuters or air gliders passing through it.

parachute.gif
source


Pencil Borderr.JPG

Process

I had never drawn mountains in detail before so this was especially challenging. I stopped working on this piece about 3 times and it took me several hours to complete.

However! I'm very, very happy with how it turned out, especially since this is the first time in years that I've painted a whole scene using watercolor!


OneHeart Border.jpg

Special shoutout to my sister artist @nessyquel who inspired me to try traditional art again; my real life sister who is an artist, @jacinta.sevilla, who helped me improve this painting with her critique; and @sukiyakii for encouraging me to complete the painting.


1.JPG

I start by doing an outline of the whole scene. At the beginning I wasn't sure whether or not I was gonna color it or just ink it. I drew on watercolor paper just in case: Canson 200 gsm and it's textured. I used a mechanical pencil .5mm 2B.

2.JPG

Then comes the tedious part: layering. I start off with painting the rocks and cliffs with a very light brownish red color. I used my Prang watercolor for this. It only has 8 colors, but mixing is pretty fun, so no problem there.

3.JPG

Next up, I paint all the greenery with a light yellow green color.

At this point, I needed coffee.

coffee.gif

If you know you won't finish the painting in one sitting, take breaks in between.
gif source


Layering

4.JPG

Dark Brown.jpg

Painting with watercolors is about building layers. I start with a dark brown. I use this for the shadows on the rocks and cliff face and the large cracks.

5.JPG

Foliage.jpg

Next up is foliage. I mix a dark green color and dab it lightly all over where the leaves of the trees and plants are.

6.JPG

Parachuter.jpg

I add more brown to the rocks for shadowing effect. At this point, I'm thinking the image is a bit too plain which is why I decided to add the parachute guy. :)

Finally....

At the very end, I line everything with ink pens. I used a .005 pen for the small cracks in the stone and small leaves. I use a slightly thicker Pilot pen to do the darker shadows on the side of the rocks and underneath the foliage.

IMG_20180115_204649.jpg

All done!

tired.gif
source


Hope you guys enjoyed this post and tell me what you think of the drawing in the comments below.

OneHeart Border.jpg

See you next time,

Noelle2.png


@noellesevilla.gif


Achievers Logo.png

Sort:  

Love the textures of the mountain. Great work, keep up ;)

Thank you so much!

Talagang talwnrado kayong magkapatid! Ang galing! @jacinta.sevilla wow o galing galing!

Yeheyyy thank you, thank youuu!

wow! family of artist talaga kayo hehe..Godbless sa contest

Thank you Jackie! Good luck and God bless to your entry for the non artist contest 😉 ♥

Yikes, youre getting good! Hehe! Keep it up! I wish i could that also. Very detailed! Goodluck:)

Thank youuuuu!

Woah! I love it. The result feels so relax. Makes me feel I want to be at the top of a mountain... By the way. What would be life with no coffee? haha

Hey! I know you from artstorm! Woo! Yas, coffee is LIFE. 😂 Thanks for visiting. Followed u!

wow so beautiful galing

Thank you very muuuuch @tjcdc! :D

Nice. :) Thank you for your entry & good luck with the contest.

Omg thank you for visiting @sirsensei! More power to you 🙏 ✨

My pleasure! Take care. :)

You are getting better everyday.

Thank you papa! ♥ 🐻

Agh! I'm so jealous. This is unfair, I don't know how to paint like you D:

Yes you do! You're so much better! 😢 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56576.23
ETH 3024.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29