12# Drawitbetter Contest Entry: Sunflower

in #drawitbetter6 years ago (edited)

Here's my entry for @sirsensei's Drawitbetter Contest. Hope you like it!
s.png

Step by step


**Step 1: I started off with a simple sketch of the flower.
b.png

Step 2: Then I added a few dark shades to have depth.
c.png

Step 3: A little more darker shade wont hurt :)
d.png

Step 4: Then I added a few lighter shades
e.png

Step 5: A put shadows on the back petals to show that they overlap each other.
f.png

Step 6: Using a soft brush, I erased the sides of the brown part
g.png

Step 7: I softened the edges then proceeded to create a chain of dots using a solid brush.
h.png

Step 8: With a lighter shade, I created another chain of dots just below the darker dots
i.png

Step 9: Repeat step 7 and 8 until you get to the center
j.png

Step 10: Create another layer set to overlay, then add more shadows
k.png

Step 11: I copy pasted the petals to add more volume then added shadows
l.png

Step 12: I decreased the flower's opacity and drew a woman dancing right on top of it
m.png

Step 13: I colored the hair and top first
n.png

Step 14: Then I proceeded to color the arms
o.png

Step 15: I hid the flower layer and colored the dress with gray
p.png

Step 16: Then I added darker shade to create shadows
q.png

Step 17: I changed the dress layer blending mode to linear burn.
r.png

Step 18: I added another layer and set the blending mode to overlay then added white to add lighting.
Step 19: I colored added light green color around the dress then added a few darker blots with different brushes
s.png
Since the dress layer blending mode was set to linear burn, the parts of the dress without the flower turned green as well. I was planning to color the rest of the dress white, but green looked better. Planned or not, I'm happy it's green :D

Thank You!


Feel free to comment any tips or suggestions. It will be greatly appreciated! If you liked the content, please leave an upvote. For more, follow @kothy.

All images were drawn and edited by @kothy

Sort:  

Nice idea & great post. I like it! Thank you for your entry & good luck! :)

Thank you!! Glad you liked it :)

Nice! i like see the process of work. Very good

Thank you! I tried showing each step but sometimes I get too focused on what I'm drawing and forget to save the step :<

Love the detailed process of how u came up with this lovely art!!! Really loving the result. Keep it up

Thank you!! I'm very happy that it turned out fine. I have you all to thank for that!!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kothy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55