Draw It Better 11 Entry Mountain theme: Sunset Mountain Watercolor Painting

in #drawitbetter6 years ago (edited)

Presenting my Art! ✏️

This is specifically made for @sirsensei's drawitbetter art challenge! The theme is "mountains"


2018-01-16 08.38.43 1.jpg
Sunset Mountain
Watercolor on paper

I usually don't draw landscape but somehow I was drawn to the new theme and surprisingly I loved it. Thanks @sirsensei!

The Concept
I drew a person (a woman) as part of the mountain to represent mother nature:
☀️It is she whom the sun meets rising
🌄It is she who puts the sun to sleep
🍃It is she who humbles the wind
🌊It is she who carries the streams
💮It is she who cares for us all
I just like to personify nature because they're beautiful and living, and they balance life and it's goodness. We should appreciate and preserve this greatest treasure.

🎨The materials I used are the following:
2018-01-15 03.42.48 1.jpg
I was pretty excited to paint since all my materials were new. 😋 So what do we have here?
Mechanical pencil I like using mechanical pencils since you won't have to sharpen it and it stays at a certain sharpness and fineness. This is 0.5 I think. But it's nice if you'd go for 0.07 which is super thin and light.

Paint brushes I used three types, two thin and small tip paint brushes and one flat. You will see them in the work in progress photos to come. These are synthetic but good quality so it's nice to use.

Watercolor paper You can use any watercolor paper you have/want.
The paper is usually thick. The thicker the better, the more sturdy!
2018-01-15 03.50.53 1.jpg

Watercolor set I have watercolor set of 36 colors. Kuretake Gansai Tambi. It's so high quality.
2018-01-15 03.47.30 1.jpg
🇯🇵Japan will never let you down

Process video and photos

First of all, to think of mountains ans concept I need a subject. So I google mountain pictures, rocks and vines just to give ideas and I take pics of myself to so I have a subject.

Collage 2018-01-15 13_34_32.jpg

Please excuse my face. 😂🤣🤗

You can see which photos I used for the artwork.
THE VIDEO


Here's a video of my art, there are pictures and a timelapse of how I painted the sunset
Due to time constraints, it's so hard to paint with one hand and film on the other. Instead, I'll just explain more with the work in progress photos here.

Work in Progress photos

Pictures and process

![2018-01-15 09.21.19 1.jpg]PhotoGrid_1516091970684.jpg
Starting with a sketchI draw the face and other rock like features and the vines and flowers

PhotoGrid_1516092032577.jpg
Start painting
I don't have formal training with watercolor so I just use the "light to dark" technique and applying color theory.
The flowers are:
Red,

PhotoGrid_1516092087608.jpg
Paint the rocks
I use blue, white, black, brown and green for the rocks.
I just randomly made the patterns.

PhotoGrid_1516092249030.jpg
The sky background and the mountains
For this I used blue, yellow, red, white and orange. For the mountain I used some violet shades along with blue, white and black.

PhotoGrid_1516092340851.jpg
Slight editing of the picture helps since taking pictures sometimes makes the image dull.

Sunset Mountain
2018-01-16 08.38.43 1.jpg

🤗THANK YOU FOR STOPPING BY🤗

I hope you enjoyed and learned! Feel free to comment, critique and request!

The watercolor brand I used is: KURETAKE GANSAI TAMBI
I highly recommend it!

🏆For ongoing contest and inspiration: please visit the following🏆
@anomadsoul
@sirsensei
@topkpop
@kneelyrac
@jacinta.sevilla 😂🤣

✨Please vote for your witnesses😱
@steemgigs
@cloh76
@precise
@blocktrades
☝️Proud member of✨
#steemph
#artguildph
#steemitachievers
#gratefulvibes
#untalented

That's all folks!
🎨xoxo💋
@jacinta.sevilla

received_10214586986052169.jpeg
DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.pngSteemit Bloggers Discord BANNER NEW.jpg

Sort:  

Ang ganda nito Jazz !

Thank you talaga!!!!!! :D di ako magaling sa watercolor, nag susubok2 palang. mas mabilis kasi matapos kaysa sa colored pencils so, why not :)

Pinakagamay ko yung watercolor pag dating sa landscape saka fantasy themed! I'm sure makakagawa ka ng cool artworks pa lalo knowing your skills. Omg I'm so excited sa future works mo

Goodness. You're so good sis! I was also visualizing a woman formed like a mountain for hours but still, I can't decide the elements of my plan.

Oh we thought the same, thanks for the nice comment sis <3 You should draw your idea now :D

Excellent work as alwayssssssssss.

Yayyyyyyy ty sis

Dear Artist ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

Im honored. Thankyou and now following you too. Cheers!

Great work as usual Jacinta! :)

Hi. Thanks so much 😂😱☀️✨🎨 yay glad it is.

Hi! It's a pleasure to see you participate again. :)
Amazing idea with your painting, I like it!
Good luck with the contest @jacinta.sevilla, & take care! :)

Hullo @sirsensei! You bring the inspiration. Finally I cam add another piece to my collection. Keep the ideas coming!
Thanks :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

OMG you are so telented Girl i've ever seen in Steemit !!! @jacinta.sevilla

thank you so much for the kind feedback! :)

Is it Mount Rushmore? Is it The Hokage Stone Wall?
No, it's Jacinta!!!!

Sorry, this was what I first thought when I saw this.
I like the mix of colors!!
Great work as always :D
More power!!

Ako man jud na hehehe 😱♥️ thanks heika. Cant wait to see your post as well!!! ♥️✨

WIP pa. Walang Ito Patutunguhan. hahahha
too busy with work but art is calling me hahaha

maybe it feels that way at start but take time right maybe inspiration will hit u soon
and boom! hoping for another power post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56576.23
ETH 3024.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29