Drawitbetter Contest #8 : "Lion"

in #drawitbetter6 years ago

"Leo, the Majestic"

A gif for the process:

I remembered the first time I saw Kevin Richardson, the Lion Whisperer, around 7 years ago when Youtube was becoming increasingly popular in my country, I was mesmerized. The Lion Whisperer himself, the majestic animal and the bonds between them—I saw something unbreakable, something beautiful, and something profoundly genuine at the moment. And something is altered in the DNA the moment the bonds are established.

Lions has always enchant me with the image of true grandiosity, pride and triumph, always at the top in the hierarchy of its territory. Unlike other felids that are more of solitary hunters, lions hunt in groups when the opportunity allows, and with different methods. This increases the success rate of each hunt, and perhaps one of the reasons why lion could be considered to be the most powerful cat on Earth--- and why lion becomes the symbol of the King. Among a pack of lions there is a hierarchal system where the most powerful lion becomes the leader, and weak lions are casted aside to the sidelines. I am guessing the ‘weak’ or outcast lions are distinguished by their relatively low level of confidence or ‘unfavorable differences’ that make them unfit to blend in and to compete within the system.

Here is the break-down of the process:

Lion2c for progress1.jpg

If you notice I painted the lion intuitively and organically, which is apparent by my first rough paint of the lion' profile and posture being scrapped and repainted. I went for a more solid and curvy silhouette to highlight the subtle basic shapes in nature that otherwise would not be much appreciated by us in its muted and conventional way. I considered this again on how to frame the subject with the basic blocks of shapes in its surrounding. Also, painting animals is a rare exercise for me therefore I referred many real photos of lions to understand how its anatomy works to depict the lion in that skulking and vigilant stance.

And the final image:

Lion2l Final.jpg

In this challenge I tried to picture a proud lion, the leader of a pack in the midst of hunting its prey. I set the moods to be ‘On Alert Mode’ and whomever the prey of the King might be, they are in great danger.

Thank you for viewing!

Sort:  

Congrats bro...its good work and u deserve a good upvote

Thanks so much, CY!

Congratulations @afique! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great artwork @afique. You did a great job in the description of how you made it.
I tried to upvote your post, but it looks like I may be to late, or maybe Steemit is having issues, so I’m going to upvote some of your comments.


SDG

Thank you for your appreciation even after the payout. A very kind gesture mister @sighmanjestah! bows

Super nice!! :D

Thank you en. Azman! :))

mumbo jumbo in the world of apique!!..nice job!!

Thank you mr. Rambai!

tahniah afique....sudah kena sengat ...

Trimakasih sifu @aurah!

kena follow lubuk.. :)) good job fiq!!

Hahah.. tqtq!

incredible texture!

It's from the custom brush I've made. Thank you!

Wow brother! Proud of you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30