LEON, then & now - My entry to Draw it Again Challenge - Original drawings.

in #drawitagain6 years ago (edited)

leon-then and now.dei_3.Hi.png

When I saw @jillustrations 's contest Draw it Again challenge, I thought 'what a cool idea', but I didn't think that I will participate, one reason would be that I used to always give my drawings away, as I didn't wanna see them again (also why I turned to bodypainting, the models wash the paintings off at the end of the day and I never have to look at them from up-close ever again, only in photos ;D ), so I didn't think I have anything to redraw.
Another reason would be that even those I might find, I probablly wish I wouldn't :P My last proper drawing period was during my army service, a dark time that contained dark drawings, that I most definitely don't wanna go back to. After that time I practically stopped drawing, other than sketches for my work.

But I went on a search anyway, to see what I might find glaring at me from the past. This is how I also stumbled upon these few punk photos I posted here.
And between the ancient folders that survived somehow through the times, I found a folder full of my LEON drwings :D
Leon was a character I created when I was a teenager, for my first fanzine "Going Underground". That fanzine was about punk music & culture and I published it, if I remember correctly, between '99-'01. Leon, inspired by a real person I knew from the punk scene those days, was a cute 'tough' skinhead punk and he kind of became the face of the zine.

LEON-4 together.png

I don't have an actual date to say when these were drawn, but as the "created" date in the file's info says year 2040, I assume it was before the notorious bug Y2K, e.g. around '99 or so.

Going back to Leon, nearly 20 years later, I wanted to make him older too. He got a few tattoos since then, his expression got more serious and yes- he became a dad! :D A mighty cool one ;)
I knew also, that I wanted to keep the black & white colour scheme and the old-school feel (though I drew it digitally, not the real old-school way as the originals were- pen on paper).

leon adult tattoo.dei_1.Hi.png

Clickable for high-res

It was a lot of fun going back to this guy, brought me back to those days, to the music (I had to listen to Oi! again while drawing him today :D ). I hope you guys will enjoy him too <3

Thank you @jillustrations for organizing this super fun contest that took me back in time!

<3



If you liked Leon, you might also like:

DSH_7857-1.jpg
#newpostoldschool

kids.jpg
Punks in Israel

Join our @steemartists community steemartistsS.png on Discord!

Sort:  

Ohhhh that is so cool! I'm so happy you found something!
That was also a really interesting read, and a crazy trip down memory lane for you I guess. <3 love when that happens.

Thnak you dear, I'm really happy you enjoyed it! ^_^
Yes, it was a crazy trip down memory lane indeed :D
<3

Nice drawings :) how about making a comic series with Leon?

Shlomit, may I ask you to vote once again for me as witness? I had a bug on my server and lost all my votes I already had... :/
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Thanks & have a good time

Sure honey, done! Good luck ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58