DRAWING CHALLENGE #2 - GOLDEN ROSE (updated)

in #drawingchallenge7 years ago (edited)


I just love contests! This time I found Drawing Challenge contest by @helene. This week's theme is flower. I love roses, especially their color diversity. There are red roses, white roses, yellow roses, even blue roses. I wanted to paint a rose with a special color.

So why not a golden rose?

steps.gif

Here you can see all the steps I did.

I can say that the worst thing about painting flowers is to catch texture of their petals, because they are not perfectly smooth. I solved this stuff by crosshatching with a small brush across every petal. Another thing was that I chose black background so I had to struggle with dark shadows too.

Finally I added blurry area in the shades of the colors of my rose, because there was too much black in there.


UPDATE:

The Detailed Description of My Process

First of all I made the outlines of the whole rose with yellow color.

Then I colored petal's areas and I highlighted shadow's areas with dark color.

In the next step I darkened all areas, because I wanted a bigger contrast between them and lighter colors I used later.

In this phase I was thinking about method, which would capture the petal's texture the best. You can see in the right picture I chose crosshatching with a small brush across every petal.

Actually it works also as well for focusing the blurry areas.

Last improvements.

And finally I added a stem and blurry area in the corner of the backround, because having it only black would be boring.


Thank you and see you in my next creation!

Sort:  

beautiful golden rose, your presentation are great! if you can add some description to your process step by step, it will be more better. thank you for sharing it and good luck to you.

Thank you Helene! No problem, I'm going to edit it. :)

I like your golden rose :)

Thank you Nicole! I saw your flower, it's beatiful. I used to draw with water color pencils too. :) Anyways good luck on that contest! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53