D&D maps part 1 - Introduction

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

I had busy few months but I'm here again. Getting used to work and trying to manage my free time is not an easy task as one would like. I don't have as much free time to draw at work or when I go to/from work as I hoped to do. I'm either driving or fixing stuff and even when I find a window of opportunity on some rare occasions I only have 15-20 minutes. But then I don't have the right conditions to draw or doodle. I'm trying to do more during my free time but with other things I like doing it's not as easy as I would like it to be. :)

I'm learning to prioritize and it's hard! I'm also cutting procrastination as much as I can. It's not easy.

Trying to do more fun stuff, reducing my stress levels and being more creative is the reason why I've decided to get back to one of my old hobbies. Map drawing! It's drawing, it's creative, fun and it's related to maps. I love the fun of it and I forgot how awesome it feels. I'll share with you some D&D maps I've created in the last few days.

They are pretty simple, easy to replicate and fun to do, and I'm learning as I get along and trying to improve.

Feel free to use those maps in your games and let me know in the comments if you need the larger images, or cleaned up ones (so that I can provide them).

Maps


I must say that I was influenced and inspired by Dyson's Dodecahedron. There were others, but he was a great influence in my map drawing and I have to mention that guy and his site. He was the first person I've ever saw doing that and I like how simple but awesome his maps are. He's sharing his maps for free on his site but he also has various paid resources with all his stuff available on multiple platforms. I've used his maps in my numerous D&D games and since then I made few maps of my own all the while learning and practicing.
Sadly, I haven't drawn any map for years - as I haven't played any D&D.

You can see more of his work and materials at this link here: http://www.dysonlogos.com

Here is my first try after a long time and images were not edited in any way, they were just scanned and resized.

I wanted to get back to this hobby of mine for quite some time but as I didn't have a group of players I wasn't inspired to do it. Few days ago I browsed the net and I stumbled upon few very inspiring maps and art related to D&D. Something in me snapped. I said to myself: That's it! Snap out of it and start doing what you like!
I remembered how I loved doing those maps, secret hideouts, ancient ruins and all other cool things and I had to do it again. I don't care that I don't have any players to prepare the maps for. Thinking of that I grinned like crazy and I hope that there are people that would like to have and use those maps so that I can make those for them.

I will draw D&D maps and offer them here (and on other platforms) for free for people to use in their games. That will make me smile and feel good. Added benefits are that it reduces my stress levels, it's fun and I am practicing my drawing. I can even get an upvote or two and make some money for my art supplies or ice cream.

As you can see on the 1st image my initial plan was to draw few maps per day but I won't follow that guidelines as they are. I can say that I will draw those maps when I feel inspired and when I think I have a really cool idea. Yes, I am writing down and noting all the good ideas on a piece of paper (I got 3 block notes just for that). I think of adding some monsters and a short back story for each map and what it shows/represents. Monsters can even come with a quick doodle/illustration - we'll see.
Ultimately, with enough time spent into that I hope to create an adventure or two. It's just in early stages now but it's something I would really like to do eventually.

It's unbelievable, but it takes more effort than it seems at a first glance. And again it also takes no effort at all when I get in the zone. Probably the most difficult part for me is - I can't let it go and I sometimes mess things up with too much detail. I'm working on reducing that, and I'm trying to ease into it.

Goals and future of this project


My first goal is to draw those maps as much as I can and I want them to be as good as they can so that I can build up my portfolio of D&D maps.

My second goal is to simplify them to the best of my ability and to make them visually stunning and more beautiful. It's not an easy task as I want them to have something special which makes them mine and unique.

My third goal is to provide these resources to all the interested players so that they can use it in their games. I want to build the D&D or RPG community and provide some value to that community.

My fourth and final goal is to get enough materials, experience and ideas to create and publish an actual game module/adventure that is at least 30 pages long with all the maps, plot ideas, NPC's and other things needed to run the games. I wanted to do that for a long time but I didn't know how to start.

So if you're a D&D player, or if you play any other tabletop/pen and paper RPG feel free to leave a comment, contact me and have fun with those maps. If you want, please click that upvote/follow buttons and see what I can create in the future.

It really helps me out by motivating me to do more.

Keep steemin' and have fun!
@zneeke

Note: Commercial use of any kind is not allowed!

Sort:  

cuddle_bodypillow.png

Congratulations! This excellent post was chosen by the new curation initiative of the @postpromoter content promotion service to receive a free upvote!

This post exemplifies the type of great content that we at @postpromoter enjoy reading and would love to see more of on the Steem platform. Keep up the good work!

You got a 15.40% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @postcurator!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

Great to see you back posting on steemit @zneeke!

Thanks!
It's nice to be back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31