You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drawing Practice

in #drawing7 years ago

Good to discover your art, @tetsuo. Steemit has also meant a kind of rebirth for me as a poet, as far as finding a regular creative outlet, reaching a new audience, and even making a little money (something I've not succeeded in making too much of with my 7 published books)!

By way of further introduction, here's a recent Steemit post where I share quotes of mine that are popular, online: https://steemit.com/writing/@yahialababidi/original-sayings-for-lovers-of-inspirational-quotes-wit-and-wisdom

I hope you enjoy it and wish you a happy, healthy & creative 2018 of New Possibilities :) Yahia

Sort:  

Hi,

I love your two contrasting quotes about pain, so true and reminded me of one of my favorite poems by Gibran Khalil Gebran. I am also glad to have found other Arab American authors and creators, I hope this platform will resurrect the creative spirit in the Arab world so we can start creating more world wonders instead of wondering wtf happened to us in the past couple of centuries.

pleased to meet you.

It's a privilege to be mentioned in the same breath as Gibran, a major and inescapable influence (especially, growing up with a Lebanese dad)! How wonderful to meet another Arab American :)
I fully agree with you that it's high time, as Arabs, we do something to honor our ancient wisdom - and distance ourselves from the ugly & hateful voices that seek to represent us on on the news.

If you've the time/interest, here's my lucky 'Coming to America' story that I hope you'll enjoy: http://www.theglobepost.com/2017/08/30/america-immigrant-muslim/

Pleased to e-meet you, too, @tetsuo, and I wish you much success, Yahia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61320.84
ETH 2394.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56