Entry #4 - My journey - Art - Aztec Mandala

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)


Hey fellow Steemians, it's rainy today and I was kinda bored so I made a little piece for you all. I find Aztec culture very interesting and thought why not combine it with a little of Mandala art.

Mandala


The word mandala represents the circle and it speaks to wholeness, a grand chart helping us to remember our connection to limitlessness, reaching out past and future and inside our bodies and psyches.

Aztec Empire


The Aztec Empire was the remainder of the immense Mesoamerican societies. Between A.D. 1345 and 1521, the Aztecs ruled over 80,000 square miles throughout central Mexico, from the Gulf Coast to the Pacific Ocean and south to what is currently Guatemala. Prior to the Spanish Conquest in 1521, millions of people from 38 provinces paid tribute to the Aztec ruler, Montezuma II. Cool fact: Did you know that Oxford University is older than the Aztecs civilization.



HOW DID I DO IT

Step 1

First I made 2 circles, one smaller and one bigger. Then I imagined how the ruler of Aztecs could look like, and I draw his face. I first drew with my pencil so I can erase any errors, and then when I'm satisfied I use my marker to thicken the lines.


Step 2

In next step, I drew 3 more circles and I wanted it to look like a flower, don't know why, so I drew petals around first two circles. After that, I wanted to highlight that flower thought and just drew 4 for more big petals.


Step 3

I imagined 4 points between petals and then I connected them to create a unique Aztec mandala art. I wanted to draw more but I didn't want to complicate it anymore. Aztec and mandala mix was enough complication.


Step 4

After I was satisfied with my work it was time to have more fun and start to put some colors on a drawing. I used sea blue, sun yellow, grass green and blood red. I wanted to symbolize somehow nature and the culture of Aztecs.



Sources:

https://www.merriam-webster.com/words-at-play/words-from-nahuatl-the-language-of-the-aztecs

http://www.mandalasforthesoul.com/lotus-mandala



Feel Free to JOIN our Discord channel STEEMIT SCHOOL

Change your point of view and learn valuable lessons from @dobartim and other experienced fellow Steemians, not only Steemit lessons but life lessons also!

JOIN HERE

https://discord.gg/dFVKWtT

WE WIN TOGETHER!!!



Sort:  

How nice! I love how you mixed Azstec and mandala, that never occurred to me. I've been drawing them for years and this seems like a good idea.

<3 This was my first time and me being me, I needed to add my style a bit :p Glad you like it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55