Toucan study and hyperlapse sketch.

in #drawing8 years ago

Hello, Steemit!

I wanted to share with everyone some easy going sketches. I try not to take these studies too seriously. I want to be able to quickly map out the proportions and shade in positive and negative areas. 

When I sketch I will usually play acoustic music in the background and force a start. Starting is always difficult. After the first few warm-up sketching I'll get into a groove and start producing better images. 

I always want my drawings to look real/familiar to the eye, which is why proportions are a big deal to me. I used to get really frustrated when I was still learning how to draw. It finally hit me that I would lose interest midway through a drawing and I would force my way to the finish. It would result in subpar work. 

Till this day I have to constantly remind myself to sketch the image that I see and then add small details later to give it my own twist. 

Why Toucans? I've had several pet birds growing up and I did a school report on toucans when I was small. I love watching birds ruffle their feathers, how intimate they are in their interactions with one another, how some can be shy and others can have huge personalities. I need to go bird watching in a tropical place. :)

Check out the sketches and video below!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


Do you have a favorite animal that you find yourself sketching often? Tell me about it! :) 

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Thank you! The big guy in the center was my favorite. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44