Drawing weird girls at Starbucks

in #drawing6 years ago


I’ve visited one too many coffee shops today.  

I had so much fun today! Lots of leisure walking while exploring several different areas of the city. Our map has us walking backwards numerous times but I didn’t mind. Earlier in the day we had donuts and coffee, then we hung out a super hip lounge which had a library theme- had coffee and tea. Our main goal was to find a comfortable place to draw/potentially write up steemit posts. The lounge wasn’t the best place to work. I got a text from @kommienezuspadt saying that there were too many tinder dates going on and it was ruining the vibe. I wasn’t around to experience it first hand since I had gone off to a bookstore and was just heading back towards the lounge.  

We decided to head back towards our friends place when we spotted a Starbucks on the street corner. This particular Starbucks was empty when we arrived and had the most comfortable table to sketch on. Earlier, I tried sketching something at the lounge but couldn’t focus with the intense business meeting going on right next to me.  

It keeps getting better!

The Procreate App just released a new update with some kickass features. The one thing I was exited to try was the symmetry function, which is listed with the other drawing guides. I couldn’t find it the first time I clicked around so I had to search the tutorial on Procreate Instagram account.

For those of you using Procreate, if you haven’t found it yet then go to the Actions tab next to Gallery // Canvas // Turn on Drawing Guide // Edit Drawing Guide // Symmetry and then you can mess around with the settings below before hitting done to apply. I hope that’s helpful!

Slight learning curve with my first sketch, this one came out beautifully! I really suck at drawing faces head on but this new feature made it fun. It’s weird how it was able capture even the smallest detail. I’ve got a time lapse video of the sketch below for those who are curious. I have a lot of time to myself tomorrow so I’ll either finish coloring this image or I’ll start another.   


Thanks for stopping by to view my art!🦊 

Sort:  

I am very honored by your post tolog vot by. @adit123


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

i love her face decoration... so intricate! her eyes are so freaky, but it reminds me of a friend of mine, also a girl, who can do freaky eyes in real, for party tricks and stuff XD very cool drawing, foxi !!!!

Thanks spidey!!! I’ve had this idea rolling around in my head for awhile now. If it weren’t for the symmetry assist then I probably would’ve waited to tackle this one because of the ornate jewelry. That’s cool that you have a friend that has a fun quirk! Heck, I can’t even whistle!

I like it! Great work!

By the way may be you will be interested to share your creativity with us in competition? https://steemit.com/quotizm/@peliken/quotizm-art-challenge-round-2

Thank you! I wish I had more time to enter contests but I’m currently traveling. Thanks for the invite. :)

She is indeed having a weird expression, she looks like she's high. I like all the facial accessories that she wears, they give her plenty of characters :).

-upvoted-

Haha, yes! She’s got a lot of character. The jewelry was a lot of fun to design and I’m excited to sketch up more intricate things like this. :D

That is an amazing option, to only have to draw one side and get perfect symmetry! I am not familiar with this ap. Even though I do things digitally often, I tend to use it kind of old school like pencil on paper, oil on canvas. I should experiment with this, but I don't use procreate either. I'll have to check it out.

I am super jealous of that wacom! Is that the type that is in and of itself a tablet computer! I have the version that you need to have it plugged into a computer so it sits pretty stationary at my drawing desk plugged into my computer.

Do you mind the touch screen? Like if you rest your hand on it does it think you are trying to draw there, that is my only concern.

It's funny that you had to use a Starbucks as a quieter place, which makes sense in NYC where they probably have so many wonderful cafe that starbucks is like lower on the rung for 'hangout' places.

I hope you two are enjoying your NYC time and so good you are still 'arting on the road'.

Nope, this it a little bit easier than a Wacom since you draw directly onto the iPad using the pencil and whatever program that suits you. I’m pretty old school with my approach to digital (as you know) so using this symmetry function is the high tech I’ve ever been!

The iPad is awesome. You can rest your palm on it (it’s got palm resistance) and the pencil (stylus) has a low latency so it feels smooth. I’ve drawn with this combination for over two years and it will trick me into believe that I’m using a real pencil, it’s insane!

Haha, Starbucks was the way to go and it was quiet for that exact reason! Lots of trendy coffee shops to hang out at so it was a ghost town inside of Starbucks!

We’re having a blast! I’ve met so many wonderful and kind people. I’m really glad I’ve given myself time to draw, it’s kept me grounded. :)

I always feel, no matter what, that art can ground you. If you are in unfamiliar place, or having an odd new experience you can always grab the pen/pencil and paper and go to your 'special place' :)

I love my wacom as it does feel very like paper and has amazing levels of touch sensitiviy. When I am doing digital oils and mixing colours on a new page as a palette it honestly feels so 'real' I've even been known to open my box of real oils just to get the full sensory feeling :) .

My goal is to next get the wacom that is it's own computer, much like your ipad (I didn't realize that is what that was) so I can take it with me more. I'm just waiting for the nextgen of it so it will be better then when they first introduce them.

Very cool drawing! I really love that mask/headpiece. What an awesome tool to have, too... I've found myself wishing for a "symmetry tool" for my paper recently. haha It would definitely make drawing figures head-on much simpler.

I've been away from my computer quite a bit this week, but I've just been catching up on your posts, reading about your travels. It sounds like things started off fairly stressful, but that you're finding your groove now. Our trips often play out the same way, so I totally identify. Hubby and I have a way of sort of picking on each other when the other is in a foul mood as well, and it somehow works to break the tension, and snap us out of it. We are headed on a weekend trip right after hubs is done work today, which will set us trying to get out of town in peak traffic... with 2 kids who were up an hour+ earlier than usual this morning... should be entertaining. 😅

It’s always the eyes that kill me when drawing things face-on. They’re either too low, too high or the wrong shape entirely! I drew a mirror awhile back and had to copy and flip the image to keep it symmetrical, this new update to the app speeds everything up! It’s amazing!

I hope you and the family have an enjoyable weekend. Kids thrown in the mix makes things so unpredictable! Yeah, it’s true. When you’ve with your significant other, it becomes way easier to get under their skin. We have somewhat of a short fuse when we’re running on little sleep, empty stomached and waking in humid weather. Worst combination! 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01