FROM SELF-TAUGHT TO FORMAL EDUCATION

in #drawing4 years ago (edited)

Módulo 04F.jpg

Hello, dear Steemit friends!
It has been many days since my last post and many things have happened since then. On the one hand, my father-in-law suffered a stroke (a mild one, thank God), an event that generated a lot anguish in the family. Then, my children got sick with a cold, and so did I. Anyways! I am back and this time I want to tell you a little bit more about my development as an artist.

2019-10-19-133654.jpg

On August 6th 2019, I got my degree as ‘Comics and Humor Artist’, issued by the ‘Sancho’ Academy, one of the most prestigious art academies in Venezuela, founded by Venezuelan journalist, cartoonist, and comic artist Sancho. This diploma, added to my distant learning certificate in Comics Art from ‘Modern School Academy of USA,’ summarizes my academic training in the art of illustration.

Módulo 09B.jpg
Totoyo, the marcian. I created this character for the character design class.

I started drawing and learning about the 9th art (or graphic narrative) by myself. Books and magazines, mostly borrowed, served as tools to collect information about techniques and approaches to ideas and projects. Then, the internet came and a whole universe of knowledge became available at the tip of my fingers. I got inspiration from the comics I read, from animated series on TV and from movies.

Módulo 10C.jpg

The formal study of drawing helped me organize the topics of study and evaluate my progress as an artist. That is how I was able to design characters, perspective, composition, develop environments, anatomy (human and animal), inking, theory of color, and many other topics made me feel as a true professional in the area.

Módulo 08D.jpg

I am sharing here with you some of the illustrations made as assignments in the different subjects of this program I recently concluded. I promise to share those illustrations that I keep with special affection and that remind me that my best drawing is not the most recent one, but the next. Art perfects itself with practice and time. Many of the illustrations reflect the unmistakable style of several famous artists from my country, like the great Alberto Vivanco and the maestro Sancho, among others.

Módulo 04H.jpg

I hope you like them!

If you are interested in knowing some more about the academia 'Estudios Sancho', you can visit its website. This school includes the distant learning modality. The academy has now become international: http://www.estudiosancho.com

See you next time!

Sort:  

Your post was voted by THEUNIONSUPPORT.

tus_fondzooom1.jpg

Congratulations @vascovieira! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77