My soft pastel drawing "Logan"

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemit art fans,

Finally I have weekend that means plenty of time to go back to my hobby and to create something for your (always very kind) judgment. Since I started to share my art with endless community members I feel myself like a child when I also spent hours on my drawings. I am happy when my drawings turn out how I want but there are moments when something does not work and even after many hours and couple of days, I just re-start from beginning as it is not always possible to repair. By the way, I love to repair my mistake, on one hand I think I am even glad sometimes when something is wrong on my drawing. Very often it happens with drawing portraits, it is always the distance between eyes and also the length of nose, so this moments I have to use a ruler.

Well, back to my Saturday drawing. Recently I read an interesting the movie-review of top movies 2017 that was posted by @hanshotfirst. I liked it very much, it is short description of what is it about and it is great to hear his opinion especially when he is sometimes writing what he expect from it and how it turned out. One of the movie that was included was “Logan”, that was the movie that left a big impression, it was not only action of X-men like when good guys win at the end. No, the main characters Logan and Prof. Xavier do not have the power that they did have before and at the end both die. Therefore, after reading that film review, I again recalled how I did feel after watching that movie and wanted to draw a portrait of Logan.

I used my pastel paper block “Daler-Rowney” and my soft pastel sticks as well as pastel pencils for fine line. Here is the final result:

s1DSC01569.JPG

As always every beginning is hard. After this initial sketch I was not sure if it will be successful or not, as always I have done few photos of process:

DSC01562.JPG

But I just continued and as always started with eyes, to tell the truth I love to draw blueish, greenish eyes, it works good with pastel pencils:

DSC01564.JPG

At this stage I tried to put a bit color on eye white to show up the vessels and the lips, as you see looks too much, this part of work I was doing last evening with a bit dimmed light, as it was still first layer of colors it was not too important how bright it is. That was the end of my yesterday session.

DSC01565.JPG

And this morning I have put more darker colors and of colors I needed to draw sharp knifes of his hand, at the end I was happy how my drawing was looking. Here is the last photo to show you how my working desk is looking like and what I ave used.

DSC01569.JPG

Trenner groß.png

Thank you for joining me today and viewing my post :) I wish you all wonderful weekend and see you seen.

Sort:  

this is amazing.... i love this art

Мне нравится Хью Джекман, мне нравится киноистория про Людей Х и мне нравится этот рисунок!

спасибо что заглянули, я тоже очень люблю фильмы X-men

Love the intensity of the eyes ! ... Superb expression , @stef1 :)

thanks @nehab, I think if you have the eyes right the rest will be forgiven

I agree with you. I too love to do the eyes. Fascinating. And a person who can make the eyes right, cannot go wrong with anything :) :D :)

Wow this is extraordinary drawing @stef1, love the expression .

Thank you @theia, glad to hear from you

This is awesome, i really wish i have this talent too, it just seem to me like your post is something i have been looking for all this while. you have just explained to me on how to improve my skill in the art world.

Thank you for your nice comment, if creating art makes you happy then just keep doing it this is something that usually bring inspiration and of course a good mood

Wow nice post.
Great artist.
Thanks for sharing
@stef1

thanks you for viewing

What an amazing [email protected] bless your handwork i love seeing people been creative that is why i like visiting museum to see the hand work of people that give many description in life. I love this kind of talent its motivate and keep someone in a happy mood. Music, art and gallery are good talent from above...once more God bless your handwork@stef1

thank you for nice comments

Wolverine in art

Goodpos my freinds

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74