My pastel drawing: "Tower bridge" landmark of LondonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing7 years ago

Hello dear Steemit art fans,

Recently we were visiting London and of course there were few photographs from our trip. Yesterday when I was looking through them I found one that I likes very much it was early hours of morning when we saw Tower Bridge in the first light of sun rise and a fog that was slightly spread over the bridge. When I saw it I decided to try a pastel picture of it, here it is:

a1DSC01266.JPG

In the past I thought that a Tower bridge is a famous London Bridge that is in the song "London bridge is falling down", but I was astonished to discover that original London bridge that was build up in 1830 by engineer John Rennie and was completed by his son, John Rennie the Younger. By 1962, the bridge was not sound enough to support the increased load of modern traffic, and it was sold by the City of London.

Wikipedia:
"The purchaser, Robert P. McCulloch, the chairman of McCulloch Oil Corporation, was the founder of Lake Havasu City, his retirement real estate development on the east shore of Lake Havasu, a large reservoir on the Colorado River. McCulloch purchased the bridge as a tourist attraction for Lake Havasu, which was then far from the usual tourist track. The idea was successful, bringing interested tourists and retirement home buyers to the area."

I found some literature and read about it, it worth to know as it is a part of the history, also it is a great idea of Mr. McCulloch to preserve such wonderful historical architecture. As a side effect of it the tourist attraction too.

Tower bridge itself was build between 1886 and 1894 and now iconic feature of London, what I like is to watch how hte bridge opens up to let the boats and barges to pass. But of course the tourists like to walk over the spectacular glass floor across the high-level Walkways

It is really worth to come along to see this structure.

So now here is my step-by-step drawing:

a1DSC01257.JPG

Trenner groß.png

a1DSC01258.JPG

Trenner groß.png

a1DSC01264.JPG

Trenner groß.png

a1DSC01266.JPG

trenner.jpg

Thank you for visiting my post adn hope you like it :)

Sort:  

I like your pastel drawing, nice to see the original sketch. I've walked over Tower bridge many times. It's a nice walk on the south bank of the Thames along to Westminster bridge.

Thanks for your comment, you are absolutely right this is astonishing feeling to walk over the bridge, I felt myself a child again :)

Thank you, I was a bit skeptic initially due to complex pattern of the tower if it works or not but I like how it is

It's so cool. I like it and I will follow you and don't forget watch my pictures!

Thank you for sharing your beautiful pictures!

This post has received a 7.72 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @stef1.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.73 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58720.84
ETH 3088.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41