That's What Fiends Are For

in #drawing6 years ago

Here's another fiend drawing, because you can always use another fiend. This is for an upcoming D&D 5E supplement. Working with fiends is different from working with mythological creatures, I don't have some description of a creature to start with, so I just brainstorm a few ideas. This one, the design conceit was, "huge muscular demon with a cat skull on it's head."
demon.png

Here's some process steps. Start with a rough sketch layer...fiend1.png

I'm trying to avoid using lines as much as possible, so the creatures look less comic-ey. So then I lay down a flat layer.fiend2.png

Then hide the rough layer and just start laying down a layer of shadows. I use a very dark contrasting color (for the pink demon a dark greenish-gray) but set the opacity to like 5% and start laying down areas of shadow.
fiend3.png

When it looks appropriately 3-dimensional, refine the character with a highlight layer. I usually just lay down brush strokes of transparent white and use the gaussian blend to diffuse it.
fiend4.png

Just because I think it's fun, this is what it looks like without the flat area of color.
fiend5.png

Hope you like the fiend. I hope you buy a copy of the eBook when it's complete. (No ETA yet).

Sort:  

woah, I didnt know that you can draw realism, I suck at it bru.

Yeh, I have a degree in art. But drawing detailed stuff takes too long. For my webcomics I try to keep the realism level somewhere between Silver age comics and Archie, just so I can publish every week.

@STEEMEOW!!!! HUG Don't be scared of the big pink demon with a cat-skull on its.... oooohhhh....

Wow 😮! What a awsome looking creature, the cat skull covering his head, is a very unique idea! I’d like to see what his own real face really looks like underneath it all. He’s eyes are pretty frightening, that’s a good thing if you want to create a scary looking demon. Good luck on your creativeness, for your D&D endeavors. Is this what I think it is, Dungeons and Dragons?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85