How to Draw an Australian Woodland Scene - Art and Drawing Process

in #drawing7 years ago

Hello Steemers

I'm in Australia at the moment and I'm inspired by the gum tree forests that are in the area I am staying. The other day I was taking photos of the gum trees, paperbarks and sheoaks that are growing around Lake Macquarie where I am staying.

I was thinking I may do a Australian woodland scene featuring gum trees and paperbarks so last night I was at my sketchbook drawing a sketch for a potential painting.

Here is my final sketch and I'll show you the process.

Gum Trees and Paperbarks, 15cm x 25cm, graphite on paper.

This is one of the reference photos I used, the scene was already a naturally good composition so I didn't need to do too much alteration however I always stick to a composition check list to make sure that it is engaging to the viewer.

Whenever I sketch landscapes for potential paintings I always think about the tonality of the drawing so I can create depth and and a feeling of space within the sketch. I use five different graphite pencils which include 4H, 2H, HB, 2B and 4B. 

I use hard pencils such as 4H and 2H for distant objects as the pencil mark is tonally lighter and for dark tones and shadows I use softer pencils such as 2B and 4B and I'd use these pencils to shade in objects in the foreground.

I sharpen my pencils with a craft knife so that the graphite is at a right angle, this way I can achieve broad marks and I can turn the pencil in the opposite direction to create fine marks.

I work out a few compositional guidelines and I sketch out the scene using a 4H pencil making light pencil marks.

Once the drawing outline is complete I start with the background forest in the distance, I want this to recede in the drawing so these trees must be tonally lighter than the trees in the foreground so I use only my hard pencils (4H and 2H).

I start filling in the detail of the trees in the mid ground which will also serve as a focal point for the drawing (and the painting if I decide to paint this). I use a HB pencil for the darker marks but nothing softer than this pencil, I don't want these trees to come too far forward in the drawing.

I sketch the gum tree in the foreground and this is where I can use my full tonal range and therefore all my pencils if I so wish. I use a 4B pencil for the darkest values of the tree trunks as darks are at their darkest in the foreground.

Next I start shading in the mid ground foliage of the paperbark trees, I'm using an HB pencil for this as again I don't want the foliage to jump forward in the drawing. This is where the broad marks from the angle I sharpened my pencils really works.

The drawing is starting to take form and I begin working on the paperbark trees on the foreground on the right side of the painting, I have moved the tree back a little so the two trees aren't on the same level which would cause a distraction in the composition. Again I am using 2B and 4B pencils for the shadow marks as they are tonally darker and I can use my darkest darks in the foreground. This helps to create the perspective and depth within the drawing.

I complete my drawing by adding in the rest of the foliage that is in the foreground and I am using my softest pencils 2B and 4B to create dark leaves that are in shadow.

I add a few more refinements to the grass and tree forms in general and with that the drawing is complete.

I hope you enjoyed my blog post, check out my website for more of my art: samuelearp.com

Subscribe to my mailing list for news, new paintings and art tips and receive a FREE digital art print download of one of my seascape paintings suitable for printing an image of any size: https://www.samuelearp.com/subscribe/

Check out my other Steemit post on painting trees outdoors 'en plein air':

https://steemit.com/art/@samuel-earp-art/evening-outdoor-paint-on-lake-macquarie-australia-art-and-photography

Sort:  

Excellent work and thanks for showing your process. Do you ever use a 6B or 8B pencil? I love the contrast it gives me, although it does make it hard to erase.

Thanks @mattphilleo and well done on your own artwork, I've been following your page for a while, I like your paintings.

With regards to pencils 4B is about as soft as I go, my drawings are purely functional in order to design compositions for paintings and get an idea of tonality, but I'm always trying to improve my drawing skills.

Very nic sketch,great work my friend .

OMG.. I really appreciate your artwork, very beautiful.
I also play art genres like you, if you do not mind you bole visit my art blog and give your best opinion. thank you

Thanks @mime, I looked at your page, great art work :)

Im have follow you now.. Because your my inspirations :)

Hi Sam, this is such a great draw, I love your artwork.

Hello there Sam, I can't imagine the satisfaction of drawing a real scene, I hope you enjoyed drawing this as I enjoy watching your artwork.

Thanks @momslife, I love drawing, I should do it more!

Lake Macquarie is a lovely area. This is an awesome tutorial. You've made me think for a second that even I might be able to render something that looks better than a 3 year old's handiwork :)

Thanks @onethousandwords, Lake Macquarie is so nice, I love Australia :)

Impressive, @samuel-earp-art. Upv&restm.

Thanks for the resteem @photo-trail, very much appreciated :)

The scene is so pretty and no words for your sketch . Thanks for sharing

After reading this I feel inspired to try a tutorial for my next CG render. Keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56465.77
ETH 2331.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36