Greek mythology collage drawing #13 - 'PYTHIA, The oracle of Delphi' (Pencil on paper) by Romaan Namoor.

in #drawing6 years ago

Just finished, so, fresh from the press...drawing #13 is a fact: 'PYTHIA, The oracle of Delphi'

Background information from wikipedia:

The Pythia was the name of the High Priestess of the Temple of Apollo at Delphi who also served as the oracle, commonly known as the Oracle of Delphi.
The name Pythia is derived from Pytho, which in myth was the original name of Delphi. In etymology, the Greeks derived this place name from the verb, "to rot", which refers to the sickly sweet smell of the decomposition of the body of the monstrous Python after she was slain by Apollo.[2] Pythia was the House of Snakes.
The Pythia was established at the latest in the 8th century BC,[3] and was widely credited for her prophecies inspired by being filled by the spirit of the god (or enthusiasmos), in this case Apollo. The Pythian priestess emerged pre-eminent by the end of 7th century BC and would continue to be consulted until the 4th century AD.[4] During this period the Delphic Oracle was the most prestigious and authoritative oracle among the Greeks, and she was without doubt the most powerful woman of the classical world. The oracle is one of the best-documented religious institutions of the classical Greeks. Authors who mention the oracle include Aeschylus, Aristotle, Clement of Alexandria, Diodorus, Diogenes, Euripides, Herodotus, Julian, Justin, Livy, Lucan, Nepos, Ovid, Pausanias, Pindar, Plato, Plutarch, Sophocles, Strabo, Thucydides and Xenophon.

Screen Shot 2018-01-31 at 16.23.37.png
'PYTHIA'
Pencil on paper
50x70cm
2018
@romaan-namoor

Sort:  

Hey man, haven't seen you on here for a long while! This is fantastic; I've been really into geometric and mystical things lately, so this is totally up my alley.

Hi there my friend, how you're doing?
I took a break from steemit to fully concentrate on my drawings ... but quietly I am coming back ;)

Thank you for your nice reaction and I am happy that my drawings are in line with your personal interests of the moment.

Take care and warm regards!

This is great... One of my favorite in mythology is Psyche, then I am browsing if you that. I am happy with what I found: https://busy.org/art/@romaan-namoor/greek-mythology-collage-drawing-3-psyche-pencil-on-paper-by-romaan-namoor. I read it all to recall the story about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66