My latest drawing of MICHAEL JACKSON.....The King of pop

in #drawing6 years ago

It was a late start this week for my drawing challenge. I want to get better at drawing realistic portraits so practice is important. Due to some family issues I had to focus on that instead of drawing but now I'm back on track.
Michael Jackson has always been one of my favorite musicians. My father used to say "he is like an instrument" and maybe he was with all his unusual sounds he made when he sang.

This is the drawing I made of Michael. Scroll down to see the process and how I drew it

20180411_160926.jpg

ueKjTTc.jpg

The first thing I do is to draw a rough sketch of the basic shapes of his face. I like to draw it by freehand but the grid method is very useful if you're not confortable to draw by freehand. For the sketch I use a graphite pen like 2H and press gently. I don't want any marks in the paper if I have to erase something. To get the proportions right I measure the distance between different spots and lines with a ruler.

20180410_200151.jpg

The next thing I do is to draw the details like eyes and mouth. For this I use a 2B graphite pencil. Sometimes I start with shading the entire face in a light shade and then go on with drawing the details. But in this drawing it was easier to start with the details. When the details is good enough I start shading the face and come back to refine the details later. For the shading I use a 4B pen and blend it out with some normal toiletpaper. For the smaller parts I use a paper stick that you can buy in your local art supply store.

20180411_141056.jpg

Now I start drawing his hair which is just black and curly. I use a 6B graphite pen and just draw cirkles until its covered. I also take some paper and blend out the graphite to not leave any white spots somewhere. Then I start making cirkles again. When the main part of his hair is done I start drawing his jacket that also is black. I decided to make some changes from the reference photo, but hey thats a good thing about drawing, you don't have to do it exactly as the photo :)

20180411_150512.jpg

Before I'm done I go over all the details again as the eyes, eyebrows and some shades that has to be darker to get more realistic. I also draw the thin hair in the edge of his hair with a mechanic pen. I also use this pen to draw some fine details. The mechanic pen has pins with diameter of 0,3mm so it's very good to draw very small details.
Below you can see the finished result. I hope you like it :)

20180411_160926.jpg

20180411_160510.jpg

ueKjTTc.jpg

I hope you like this post, feel free to upvote and resteem if you like it
Follow me for more artposts from me @realitycartoon
And remember to always be creative in what you do, and keep steeming my friends :)

Sort:  

I have seen most of your posts and i really think that you are a great artists and quite frankly your art has touched me therefore i think a'lot of individuals will agree
@realitycartoon

Thank you very much for your kindness. I'm really glad you like my art :)

Keep up the good work, I added you too the @ARTzone voting pool!

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29