Character Design #25: Sarah

in #drawing6 years ago

IMG_6099.jpg

Drawn this afternoon straight to ink.

This week I've been sharing designs for the main characters of my book "Fading".

Sarah here is the first character we meet in "Fading". She's a swamp trawler, searching for crustaceans to bring back and sell in the Southington marketplace. And it's her chance encounter with a wayward ghost that sets the whole story in motion.

Sarah began in earlier drafts as a random, unnamed background character. But the more I thought about her, the more important she became. Her part of the story is a counterpoint to what's going on with our central characters, Tom and Hades. But I don't want to share too much more...

Sort:  

do you draw everything in paper first?

Well, everything I've posted here so far has been drawn straight into my sketchbook. I draw digitally too sometimes. For my book, I'm planning to draw on paper, scan the pages, and color digitally -- a recent change from my original plan to do it completely digitally. I think my lines have more character when I draw on paper.

It will have a more stylish finish that way. :D

This one, while still very much in the vein of Steven Universe, actually reminds me a bit of Dr. Suess

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @polishq to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57531.86
ETH 3051.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29