Yet another car drawing - Chevrolet Chevelle

in #drawing6 years ago

IMG_8577 Chevelle.jpg
Yet again, I have taken upon the challenge to draw a ballpoint and highlighter car drawing. This time, the car of choice is a Chevrolet Chevelle.

Let's draw a Chevrolet Chevelle

Until now, I've drawn one Italian car and one Japanese car. I don't want to stick to a single genre of cars, so I figured that this time, I should choose an American car. I went with the 1970 Chevrolet Chevelle. I'm not sure why I went with this exact model, except for the fact that I like it slightly more than the 1969 and the 1971 model. I like the 1966 and 1967 models as well, but they feature more straight lines, making it more difficult to make excessively large rear wheels look natural.

IMG_8561 Chevelle.jpg
On all of my previous drawing posts, I have written that I started with a blank page, but it's pretty obvious, so I think I will leave it out this time, even though I kind of already wrote it.

IMG_8562 Chevelle.jpg
IMG_8563 Chevelle.jpg
IMG_8564 Chevelle.jpg
I sketched the main features of the car without making any major mistakes.

IMG_8565 Chevelle.jpg
I'm always hesitant about how to draw the wheel centers. In the real world, the number of spokes on a car wheel is usually a multiplum of five or seven, but it's so much easier to draw wheels where the number of spokes are a power of two. Then it's much more likely that I get the angles between each spoke right. That's why I decided to go with an 8-spoke design for the wheels on this car.

IMG_8566 Chevelle.jpg
The windows and the interior are often challenging as well, but in this case I think it turned out pretty well.

IMG_8567 Chevelle.jpg
IMG_8568 Chevelle.jpg
IMG_8569 Chevelle.jpg
After some coloring and slight shading with the ballpoint pen, I could finally start applying some yellow highlighter color. I started by coloring the brake calipers, but in my humble opinion, the car looked so good at this stage that I was hesitant about continuing.

IMG_8570 Chevelle.jpg
IMG_8575 Chevelle.jpg
IMG_8576 Chevelle.jpg
Well, as you can see, I did end up coloring the whole car, and I'm really happy about how it turned out.

IMG_8578 Chevelle.jpg
To round things off, here is the finished drawing along with a Mazda 3 drawing I did in early 2016. If you like the drawing, or maybe even cars in general, make sure to leave an upvote or a comment, or maybe both. I wish you a happy weekend.

Sort:  

Your art is lovely - fine details unlike mine !! I'm a fan.
Perhaps I'll start drawing cars as well...Nice work

Thanks, I would love to see your take on car drawing!

Nice! I've noted that to sketch next time.

I thoroughly enjoy the read one. The yellow one has beautiful depth to the rims of the tires.

Really good reflection work too. Keep it up man!

Thanks, man:) I've still not been able to enter the post every day mentality we talked about, but I'll at least keep the occasional post coming. Thanks for inspiring me;)

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94