Drawing #15 - At last, Coloring Luffy is Complete!

in #drawing7 years ago

Hello Steemit friends:

I am very happy to finally present to you... my finished drawing and coloring of Luffy, which I will bring to the drawing contest tomorrow!:

If you are seeing this drawing for the first time, I must begin by telling you, figuring out how to make the fire look sort of layered really proved to be a challenge. I believe that was the part of the drawing that I spent the most time on. When I began to first color the fire, it had sort of a camouflage look to it, which I scrapped because that won't cut it. I tried using a dabbing sort of motion with my copic markers, which looked decent, but I still felt that it was incomplete and still looked sloppy. I resolved this issue, (I'm really stoked about this), by just adding more color that I wouldn't think to add to fire: dark purples, soft lavenders, pinks, different shades of blues, greens, white, bright and dull yellows, and the like. My drawings still need work and are always in need of much improvement, but gosh darn it, I love how the fire turned out!!! VICTORY!!! You should check out my previous post with the fire I started off coloring, it was struggling! If fire had a face, it would be crying (in which case there wouldn't even be fire...). Personally, I think my favorite part of this picture are actually the random white dots because I feel that they make the picture look sort of magical.


As usual, I would like to share a little bit of the creative process:

The winner of the drawing contest tomorrow will be choosing the drawing content for the next contest. Do you have any copic drawings you would like to see? If you do, make sure to leave a comment below! Thanks for joining me! ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ


Sort:  

Such amazing detail! The colors blend so well.

This is legit anime-worthy art here. Nice job.

Thanks Joe! It took lots of work, but I definitely feel that my drawing has come some ways since my first drawing post on Steemit! :)

It just goes to show that whatever you feed will grow.

Definitely :)

Holy hell that looks crazy, I am not familiar with Luffy so didn't know the color choices that were going to finish this, looks awesome having the grey and reds on top of those blues plus having the kick ass drawing to boot, very cool.

Thanks :) I think blue has been one of my favorite colors to use, I tend to run out of those colors the most. Thankfully I bought some refills. For the next drawing I'm going to try to avoid using blue and use some other colors.

Wow from another level, you are very good and you have a lot of talent

Thanks @yanes94, coloring is still kind of scary for me because I'm so afraid of messing up my drawing and not being able to fix it, but I'm really happy that I colored this. ^-^ Luffy is shining! <3

To me it happens to me the same ... I am very afraid to paint my drawings and more than I do not count with good colors.

Yeah! But I just keep telling myself that it's practice. :) We can do it!

Incredible work @omega-not. Looks like you had your hands full with this one. What kind of anime you like, and what's going to be your next drawing?

Thank you! It was definitely a ton of work, but I really enjoyed drawing and coloring it. There were some days where I just lost track of time and ended up staying up until 1 a.m coloring. Lately I have been watching "My hero Academia", and "Reborn". I have tons of anime shows that I really like. I'm sort of stumped on what I will be drawing next so if you have any suggestions please do share! :)

Yeah boku no hero is a really good show. I haven't watch the new episode yet. Maybe that could be your next drawing. :)

I was thinking about that, but I chose to do attack on titan!

That show is pretty good too. I'm currently watching kaiji, boku no hero, and DBS.

Oh! I know kaiji! I was watching it but it got to the point where the gamble became so brutal I didn't want to watch it. The thought of Kaiji's sacrifice made me cringe. What is DBS?

Dragon ball super.

Oh yeah! I thought about Dragon Ball Z when I saw "DBS" but I wasn't sure. When I was little, I loved Goku.

Wow!!! This looks amazing!!!

Wow! the final piece is coming off the paper. Amazing! @omega-not Have to see it frame on a wall, now. :)

Thanks! I was actually thinking about that, but this is the first of many drawings that I'll be doing so I'm not sure if I'll be framing all of them. I've yet to figure out how to put them in a protective covering.

It all depends. You can spray it with a matte finish "Krylon Preserve it" spray and protect the surface with plastic. The key is too keep piece away from uv rays (sunlight)

I can check a craft store to see what they have, but the spray sounds like a good idea. It will most likely be cheaper than getting a frame for it. Luffy is pretty intense looking, so he will be breaking through my wall if I put him on it.

Depend where you are? Places like home depot (that sells paint), amazon or art stores will have it.

I can check Michael's! It's not too far from me :) Thanks for the suggestion! I was a little stumped on how to preserve the artwork.

amazon.com is a good place or order online.

Very nice! "If fire had a face, it would be crying (in which case there wouldn't even be fire...). " It's things like this...why I love you ;)

Lol :):) I love you too Denise! I need to plan to visit the Chiappetta family soon! Maybe I can save up for next summer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35