Drawing #13 - Shading Luffy in preparation for using Copic

in #drawing7 years ago

Hello Steemit friends! 

Some time ago, my friends and I started a little drawing competition featuring the anime show, One Piece, and spontaneously nominated one of our friends as judge (we have yet to tell him that he is the judge of the competition). For the competition, that will take place Aug 20, I am drawing Luffy, the main character of One Piece and the captain of the Straw Hat Pirates; Luffy ate the gum-gum fruit which caused his body to become elastic. So when he gets ready to fight, his blood boils and you can see his skin sort of bubble. I finished most of my shading for Luffy and am almost ready to color him with copic markers. I had planned to at least color in the black background before I showed all of you, but lo and behold, I left my black copic ciao marker (I call it the abyss marker; it's the deepest black marker I've laid eyes on) at home despite having brought every other marker with me to the coffee shop I draw at. 

I have much improvement to make when it comes to drawing, but I feel I had made drastic improvements to drawing fire compared to the previous picture I had posted: 

In this above picture, you can see that my concept of how fire is structured is very elementary because the flames are very rigid like ice, rather than fluid and random. For this second picture, I had simply drawn from my own memory, not of real fire, but of fire I always see in other drawings. To make an attempt to develop my understanding and drawing of fire, I looked up images of fire and noticed that when it flickers, it has a very layered look to it and contains several shades of colors, and not just one or two colors. I am still working on learning how to shade; I would definitely say that is one of my weak points. Since Luffy is surrounded by fire, the lighting on his body is sort of off in this picture, and unfortunately, figuring out how to shade discombobulates my brain. 

Here is the drawing progress of Luffy beginning with my previous elementary flames:

I almost forgot to share this good news! This is the one part of the drawing I didn't mess up on and have to erase!:


~That's all for now, thanks for joining me!~

Sort:  

Amazing just amazing! Love your artwork!!!

Thanks djynn :) your comment means a lot, especially since you're an epic artist yourself :o :o

I'm just a hoby doodler!!!😆 thank you though it means a lot to me! and you're welcome!

Nice action pose, and thanks for sharing the process.

Thanks Joe! I'm really grateful for your encouragement and support, you've really helped me to continue to push forward to keep posting my work on Steemit.

That's what friends are for!

Excellent job, you are a genius at this

Thanks! It might seem like drawing comes naturally to me, but I actually spent quite a bit of time drawing this picture to fine tune the small details, and even looked at real life examples to get some sort of idea on how to draw this picture.

Great development. Keep posting and updating us on your work. I am sure others think alike as well! Steem it on. :)

Thanks @keyss! I will definitely do my best to stay as consistent as possible with posting ^-^/

Angry Luffy, you have some un-answered question inside you and you want to shout the world, what the h#ll is happening. That is how I see your drawing.

:o interpreting art is my weakness, I have lots of questions though! Mostly physics questions, like, why is time dilation even a concept that exists?! Thanks for stopping by and commenting :)

Master on work. Result is amazing. You know your thing

Thank you @freshstuff :) this picture actually needs some more work so I'll be posting the color version sometime later today. I'm not sure that I'll be able to color it fully, but much of the color will be finished by tomorrow.

Nice artwork. Very talented.

Thank you! I appreciate the comment :)

Wonderful art... Your so talented @omega-not... blessings

Thank you @andrewramdas! My drawing is always a work in progress, I spend quite a bit of time looking at how other people create art to learn how to improve my own artwork.

Great drawing! Very hot! lol. Keep at it :)

Thank you! ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

Nice drawing @omega-not You make it look easy with the steps

Thanks! Many things are made easy by breaking it down into steps. :)

True. :) keep doing your thing..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43