Game Character Drawing 001: Marth from Fire Emblem and Super Smash Bros Melee (part 1)

in #drawing8 years ago

Good Afternoon Steemers,

Hope everyone is well today.

I bring the start of something new, game character drawings.

As usual my reference for this drawing has been found on google, I would put a link to the image however it has some dodgey characters in the URL and markdown isn't reading the whole URL incorrectly. If you google images "marth" you should come accross this image


I do not own this image I have used it only as reference for my drawing

I've started with Marth, the character I play mainly in super smash bros and this weekend I'll be attending a tournament in glasgow.

https://smash.gg/tournament/big-battlefield-glasgow-autumn-2016/manage/dashboard

So what better time for me to draw Marth other than now.

I've started the drawing as usual in blue pencil. Blocking out the shape, size, proportions and stance of the character.

I had a few troubles here and there while drawing stage 1. I seemed to struggle mainly in getting the legs as though he is standing on them and I also had trouble drawing his sword at the correct angle. After moving both his legs and sword a handful of times I finally looked at the drawing and thought that'll do and moved on to stage 2.

Stage 2 as normal is a second pass with the blue pencil picking out the lines I like and adding that extra bit of detail. At this stage I started with his face and to be honest the face turned out pretty bad but its okay he now had eyes and that would do. Moving down the body to his arms and upper body, the left arm got shifted closer in to his body and the left shoulder was adjusted to match, the angle his body faced also turned ever so slightly. I got to his legs which I had become rather happy with and decided to draw in his boots.

Stage 3 Is the first of the pencil layers, using a standard HB I began at the top of the drawing and worked my way down. Picking out the lines I liked and adjusting the areas that could be cleaned up.

I rotated his face slightly towards the front and although it is closer it is yet to be refined and still has much wrong with it. His upper body and arms where about right and looking alright to me so as I passed over them I just added details and picked out the lines I'll keep. The same with his lower body at this stage, He seemed balanced to me so I picked out lines and added details.

This is the end of part 1 Marth I hope you've enjoyed.

Until next time
Nath

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77