Using a grid app for drawing

in #drawing9 months ago

I have frequently mentioned that fact that I feel that drawing many things and especially the human face, is a very difficult thing to master. Many people give up on art entirely because this is such a complicated thing that very few people can master. I've been an artist for many decades but if I try to free draw a portrait it almost always fails. I will make an eye too big on one side or make a mistake with an ear. Don't even get me started on wrinkles that make all of our faces so unique.


image.png

I have been using a grid app that can be applied to any picture that you take for people that would like to hone their skills as far as mastering or at least getting better at the complexities of replicating a human face can be. This can be applied to any other photo that you take as well and I find it to be instrumental in helping people to learn how to draw or paint certain things that they are finding problematic in their progression.


image.png
src

There are a number of apps out there that all do basically the same thing but I have been using Grid Maker for Drawing for a while now and the free version of it is just what the doctor ordered. You will have to endure some ads every now and then especially if you are using and Apple phone, but on an Android phone most of these ads are blocked automatically.

you can get the app HERE for free

Even if you aren't that interested in being an artist this app has a lot of other uses as well and you can choose between inches or metric. Of course you will have to buy special paper that already has the lines drawn on it or you can do like I do and just lightly use a pencil and a ruler to make the squares yourself. By using the 2nd method, you can actually erase the lines as you progress and lie to your friends and tell them that you did the drawing free-hand.

I have found that with myself and my students that this app helps develop confidence and skill as far as overall artistic ability is concerned. Check it out! it costs nothing!


unnamed (1).jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68