Jason Todd

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

Concept

I finished this drawing of Jason Todd (the second Robin) yesterday night. A friend of mine got me involved in a DC fan roleplay and I started digging around on Youtube for background information and came across the cutscenes from Arkham Knight. The plot line deviates from the official comics canon but Robin still meets some rather unfortunate circumstances. For anyone not familiar with DC, Jason Todd is the second Robin. Batman initially catches him attempting to steal the tires off the batmobile but ends up taking him in and training him. If you want to read more: http://batman.wikia.com/wiki/Jason_Todd

Jason_todd_preview.jpg


Process

I was pretty happy with the preliminary sketch. For my full scale illustrations, I usually end up drastically changing the image once I get to the coloring stage. I end up painting out and integrating the lines altogether so I don’t worry too much about perfecting details at this point.

Jason_todd_wip4.jpg

I dropped in some base flats underneath the line art. At this point, I do some basic shading and blocking out forms.

Jason_todd_wip3.jpg

This is where the image starts to come together. I focused a lot on lighting and detailing in this particular illustration. At this step, I merged the lineart and colors layers and am painting on a single layer. I tweak details and try to get everything looking correct.

Jason_todd_wip2.jpg

The rendering is mostly done at this point, just detailing and polishing.

Jason_todd_wip1.jpg


Final Version + Close-Ups

I decided to go with the darker sleeve version of the costume.

Jason_Todd.png

I'm quite happy with how all the details came out.

closeup_jason_todd.png

Sort:  

I don't know this guy so I will have to check the link that you provided. Your artwork is great! His face is full of pain and desperation. His eyes look hurt. I like the torn clothes and his bare skin. It's a very powerful and sad artwork.

Thank you for sharing! And congratulations on your curie vote!

Thank you! Yeah, definitely watch the game cutscenes too.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

What an expressive and dark painting this is. You clearly showed how anguished this man is on this picture, and I feel saddened to know about what happened to him :(.
                         
Congratulations on your first curie vote! Keep active and continue posting your arts =).

Thank you! I worked so hard on this. :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hey, @kytcordell.

I'm not so familiar with Jason Todd, but at least in some story lines, I understand, he falls prey to the Joker. He's supposed to be dead, then she shows up as the Red Hood, and ends up on the other side of the law, or tightroping between good and bad in the way he handles things.

Now, does the J on his cheek is meant to stand for Joker, as in a branding, or is it actually for Jason?

When you say it's the colors that brings the art together, I believe it. The tone is set, the different areas of Todd pop, and you can see his hurt and anguish.

Congratulations on the curie. Definitely well earned.

Hey! Thank you for the kind comment.

As for the J, you should watch the cutscenes from the game "Arkham Knight." It deviates a lot from the original comic but there are similarities that result in Red Hood. I don't want to spoil details for anyone who hasn't played or wants to watch.

Okay. :) I'll have to go look up the cut scenes on YouTube then. I don't know if I'll ever get around to playing the game, but the way they make the cut scenes anymore, it's almost like watching a CGI movie. Some of it is even motion capture, though I think they've got a ways to go with that still.

Poor Jason ! You captured his ordeals so emotionally here ! Very striking work, @kytcordell ! I really like how you explain your step by step, also :)

Congratulations on your curie :)

Thank you so much <3

How long have you been an artist? This looks amazing.

Hi kytcordell,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hola @kytcordell, es un dibujo muy interesante, sinceramente no sé nada de los juegos, pero tu dibujo, trasmite mucho dolor, tristeza y desesperación, lograr trasmitir, todas estas emociones, en una dibujo no es fácil, sé que en el momento de tu voto curie tus emociones son otras, ¿cuéntame cómo te sentiste? Un fuerte y cariñoso abrazo, que sigan los éxitos.

Wonderful drawing, I love the sketch, as it showed the most difficult part to get the size and proportions, you already put a lot of details in your original sketch and then it is only to add the colors, I love the way that you paid attention to values of tones and that give your character depth and volume. I like expression of his eyes and how you made the tears. Beautiful sketch and finished result looks awesome!

Thank you! Yeah, sometimes my brain doesn't fully get everything correct until rendering starts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28