Study drawing, a girl with a red blanket

in #drawing7 years ago

Hi,

I would like to show you a drawing I did a few months ago as a studio for an upcoming oil painting.

IMG_20161219_004056.jpg

The drawing is made in a small format: 20 x 30 cm. approximately.

IMG_20161218_163020.jpg

IMG_20161218_234641.jpg

Then I colored it with red ecoline.

IMG_20161219_004056.jpg

I honestly like the unpainted drawing more, but it's already done.
What do you think?

Thanks for looking at my post!

Sort:  

@jorgevandeperre I like the one without color. Very subtle and the lines are in a smooth motion. The color is kind of distractive I think.
But that's just my personal opinion. It doesn't take away anything from the art. I'm following you. Would like to look at more of your paintings.

Thank you very much! I appreciate your comment, thanks again.
I have just posted a video where I show the process for an oil painting, based on this drawing.
Hope you take a minute to watch it.

Thanks for the prompt reply :) I'll sure watch it.

well... that's why you do the study right? To find out... but in the oil painting you won't really be able to keep the drawing underneath visible - this is something I have a dilemma with - I do a drawing - and then I have to decide if I am going to obliterate the drawing I LOVE for the painting - I have tried to leave the drawing showing but it just does not work the way the drawing alone works but as a drawing - most people don't really SEE it as they would a painting - it's an artist's dilemma I guess. i looked at your website - WOW!!! Fantastic... I especially like the ballerina feet painting - very STRIKING and also such a statement of our culture today - no one knows what goes on behind the scenes - we are sanitized.

Drawing for me is an essential part of my work, when drawing, I learn about shapes, proportions, shadows and composition about the subject I want to paint. Drawing is not a goal in itself, it is a way to find the right path to do a work.
I show the drawing here to teach how I achieve to an artwork and to show some of the stages before it.
Thank you very much for your comment and for the visit to my page.
I'm glad you appreciate my work.

Yes, @jorgevandeperre - I understand your point of view. I am also an artist, but I do not work as you do. My work is not from life. I work from my intuition and imagination so I don't sketch or study. I am able to appreciate what you do - because your work is very beautiful - I like especially the surreal paintings... thank you for sharing your process with us.

Congratulations @jorgevandeperre! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you very much!!

Love it,I prefer the coloured version to be honest. Proud of you, dad !

Thanks a lot!! I love you so much, I'm proud of you too!

Very peculiar ) It is like a hymn to the red color! Very expressive, I like it.

Really? Thanks a lot!

That's a great study and series!

Beautiful drawing. I loved how delicate and slender the woman seemed. You drew her hair perfectly. I loved the uncolored drawing. Great job!

Thanks a lot. Nice of you!

Beautiful art mate... U are very talented..

Also check my drawings at my blog. Hope u like it...😉

Thank you very much! Following you

Lovely image...yes I love a pencil drawing and it's gorgeous, but I think you did an amazing job with the paint... even love the tachism - the spraaaaay - yah

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73