Drawing Eyes and Feathers with Colored pencils

in #drawing7 years ago

Hi steemians! these are tep by step pictures of my drawing! Here are the work in progress pictures of my Owl drawing! His name is Zeus, a rescued screech owl.
He is blind but what a miracle in his eyes! the galaxy in his eyes.
z9.jpg
z00.jpg

Heres how I started, with the eyes. A sketch and filling the eyes with pastel purple and light blue and blue green and leaving out white circles for the stars
z1.jpg

z2.jpg

after layering the eyes, I draw the beak. and use light blue, gray and pink yellow and green as well, theyre essential to make a drawing realistic.

z3.jpg
Then I draw the feathers around the eyes and the beak, The paper is light so I draw the dark shades first and leave out the white parts.
z4.jpg

z6.jpg
I work my way down by shading a layer of brown and green and a little blue and purple for the feathers
z7.jpg
Black is always last to shade. although a layer of blue brown or violet green creats a darker shade than just using black!z8.jpg

theres a layer of color on the background!

I finish all the other feathers and background. using green and brown and orange shades around the white areas to make it look real.
zeus_by_jyacini-dbmq6n7.jpg
The effect of the camera though has a yellowish hue to this shot.z11.jpg
I had it framed but I just put it away. I dont know where to hang this at the moment.

I hope you enjoyed and learned something.

Check out my other art :D thank you :D

Sort:  

Stunning! :) I love your work and look forward to your future drawings :)

Thank you so much :D

nice work jacinta, it look more realistic than a draw.

So nice to hear that it looks realistic! ive been practicing realistic art :D thank you :D

Wow, another gorgeous owl. This one looks like I can reach out and brush through its feathers! The depth is incredible.

thank you :D thats why they say shading is very vital to a drawing it makes all the difference. plus color theory! thanks so muchhhhhhhhhhhh

This is my favorite <3 I love your works Jas . Idol kita aaaaa

Hello!!! Idol din kitaaaaa. Thanks! I love this one and the fox as well :D ❤❤❤❤

Are you the goddess of drawing? Lol. This is beyond amazing. Those eyes are epic like their creator. Hahaha :D

Lol hahhahhhahhhhahha awwww thanks. Well I got lucky with this one. I'll make this again and make the eyes even better.

@jacinta.sevilla, like your drawing and skill. It's nice to see that community is growing with good artists.

Thank u so much for the kind words! :D you paint as well! awesome :D <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11