Drawing Challenge #12: The Mad Hatter - My contest entry to @helene's drawing challenge (theme: people on a chair)

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

Alice in Wonderland 🎨

This must be one of the craziest and creative books I have read written by Lewis Carol

For @Helene's contest with a theme of: people on a chair, I have chosen to draw the mad hatter for his crazy qualities.

I also thought of my birthday which is coming soon (tomorrow), and The word "unbirthday" came to mind.
All this silly things from the mad hatter in wonderland.
PhotoGrid_1513496207534.jpg


here is a copy with my name on it, according to the requirement of the contest

I felt this uniqueness would bring a little special something to the drawing.

  • Title: Tea Party
  • Medium: mixed media
    *Materials: colored pencils, colored gel pens
  • Size: A4 paper, textured

Process pictures

🎨 Phase one: Sketching
Mad_hatter_phase:_sketch_by_jyacini.jpg
I sketched chairs on top of each other, the tea cup and rough sketches of alice and the hatter.

Mad_hatter_phase:_sketch_2_by_jyacini.jpg
I defined their faces.

🎨Phase 2: inking

Mad_hatter_phase_2:_inking_by_jyacini.jpg
I start to ink with a 0.5 pen/gel pen. I just ink them all evenly with one pen.

Mad_hatter_phase_2:_inking_2_by_jyacini.jpg
I changed Alice's feet into a tiptoe position to emphasize how low she is to the mad hatter.

🎨Phase 3: coloring

mad_hatter_phase_3:_base_color_by_jyacini.jpg
As you can see I have colored very lightly the clothes. Base color first. That is the color produced by the lightest part when hit by light. I also inked red the hair of mad hatter.

mad_hatter_phase_3:_Midtone_and_shadows_by_jyacini.jpg
I darken the other colors for the Midtone. That is the natural color. And use a darker tone for the shadows, I also used grey and black.

So for example your:

  • Base tone is yellow
  • Midtone is yellow green
  • Dark tones and Shadows would be dark green, black and grey (you can also use brown)

mad_hatter_by_jyacini.jpg
For the final part, I inked the other parts of the madhatter, specifically on the right side for definition and Shadows.

🎨 Phase 4: signing it and editing

I signed the drawing and I also used an unsigned version.

I added a signature, my username here on steemit @jacinta.sevilla

I added a text to add to the story
PhotoGrid_1513496207534.jpg

"Alice, please take a seat. If they're not all taken" the mad hatter said.

I also thought of another one
"You see Alice, There are many chairs but no guests to sit but me"

Of course this scene is imaginary and did not take place/not written in the book of Lewis Carol.

It's just fan art ✨

That concludes my entry!

Thank you for stopping by. I hope you learned and most of all, enjoyed!
Video_20171217163402360_by_vimady.gif
received_10214586986052169.jpeg
DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.pngSteemit Bloggers Discord BANNER NEW.jpg

Sort:  

Great art

Greats drawings. Resteemd and followed.

Thank u so much!

You are very clever, drawing, I really like to see it

Im glad u think so.
Creativity is something i need to practice.
Thank u so much

I like these drawings! Keep up! Good luck!👍

thank you so much <3

You're welcome!

ooo, it's very nice! good luck at the contest!

Hope I win. But this drawing is rather simple. Thank youuu! 🎨

Lab et! Sure na sure <3

Sana. Haha thanks te

Galing sensei

Great work jaz, for the win.

Go go go! Salamat po!

great artwork! galing maam

maraming salamat po :D hehehe

wow!.. amazing skill you have .. surely u will win this contest .. best of luck .. r u professional painter ?

Hi. Well I don't know if i can call myself a painter. Im more of a dry media artist.
Anyway, thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59592.00
ETH 2545.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54