I'd go home if I had one /// inksanity from the streets /// looking back

in #drawing7 years ago

I penned this while homeless on the streets of Nashville. It was a tough summer - very hot & only the library to cool down, use a bathroom & water fountain. Needless to say, it's a hostile city & I was very very glad to leave & come to Austin. I also wrote a piece about some friends I made while visiting food pantries, etc...one in particular was a transgender kid who had experienced all kinds of horrors just because of who he was. His spirit touched me because despite all the hate, he was one of the happiest people I have ever met. Anyway, I came across this piece today & remembered him fondly. Hopefully, he has found a good home because we'd often joke 'I'd go home, if I had one....'

Both art & my short piece were published in The Contributor homeless newspaper

all original ink drawings by helen bird art - sharpies, gel, metallics, neons on art card stock, scanned & uploaded, no digital manipulation is ever used in my process...

follow me on twitter @Birdhelen https://twitter.com/BirdHelen <<<

designs, prints & products available on https://society6.com/birdart

Fire Wild.jpg

contributor.jpg

Sort:  

Really inspiring! Hope you still draw :)

Junkie walking in the moonlight
Im on my way home
I left 3 days ago
No one seems to know im gone
Home is where the hatred is
Home is filled with pain and it
Might not be such a bad idea if i never
Never went home again..

I love this...such feeling, I know you know what it's like & yes, I still draw. And have found a home! Thanks so much for your words, I greatly appreciate the input ;') best wishes!

thank you so much Caroline, greatly appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66