Ink illustration to Vera Kamsha's "Reflections of Eterna" (inspiration poem and more drawings inside:)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing8 years ago (edited)

Well, it's the first time in my life when I must say "I don't know, how to explain my picture in english":)

First of all - yes, I promised myself a rest from drawing. No chance, yep, no chance. Inspiration really is a tricky thing.

There's a writer, Vera Kamsha, and she wrote a novel series "Reflections of Eterna". And I love, I love and I LOVE these books. I'm not alone, cause different creative people write songs based on them and create pictures too. The series is a historical-fantasy novel. Now it's 8 books in it, 1600 minimum pages each, so it's hard to make the point about the plot. Unfortunatly it exists only in russian.

There's an "exersize for artists". You listen to a song, and draw everuthing you hear in one composition. So, it's my first attempt to do it:) Once my husbands colleague, seeing the illustrations that I made as comissions, asked him: "Did the customer ask her to do such gloomy pictures or she's that much gloomy herself?". OK, I'm not gloomy. Most of the time:) But I love gloomy stories.

But to make the picture at least a bit clear - there are four clans in the book, masters of the elements: wind, mountains, waves and lightning houses. And the ruling king - the fith (it has nothing to do with games of thrones. And it appeared earlier). And names of these four clans are mentioned in a spell, that... OK, let's keep it here, there's a spell, that mentions the four clans. One russian bard made a song of it, and it inspired me to connect all of them in one drawing. I'll add the text below, if you're interested you can copy-paste it to google translator, I'm not good enough to translate poetry and keep the ryme there:)

 Ветер…
Яркость молний, стойкость скал
Ветер…
Крики чаек, пенный вал
Ветер…
Четверых Один призвал
Ветер…
Скалы…
Лед и Пепел, с гор обвал,
Скалы…
Миг и Вечность, штиль и шквал
Скалы…
Четверых Один призвал
Скалы…
Молния…
Сквозь расколотый кристалл
Молния…
Эшафот и тронный зал
Молния…
Четверых Один призвал
Молния
Волны…
Правда стали, ложь зеркал
Волны…
Одиночества оскал
Волны...
Четверых Один призвал
Волны…
Сердце…
Древней кровью вечер ал,
Сердце…
Век богов ничтожно мал,
Сердце…
Четверым Один отдал
Сердце… 

Earlier I aslo drew all the Family Emblems:

  • The waves family, the moto says: "From the deepth"

  • The lightings family, the moto says: "Presents victory"

  • The wind family, the moto says: "Against the wind"

  • The mountains family, the moto says: "Firm and unshakable"

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

This is great! I have to do that exercise soon!

I'd love to see the result ;)That's a fun experience anyway:) I'll do more and more:)

I love gloomy pictures and stories, great work. I think I get your picture, gate, flames, noose and a heart...looks like romantic love to me.

There's everything in these books:) Romantic love, war, magic, friendship... And an awesome man as a main hero:) I just combined everything in one drawing:)

Yes I can see that, including the lightening and darkness😱

But totally the book is not about love at all:)

Oh, why the heart? Is the heart about being a hero or warrior?

In the books plot it's the heart of the Beast, to whake which the masters of four dynastys (lightings, waves, mountains and wind) and the king must get together and carry out a ritual. It really is a long story, 8 times 2000 pages:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62068.40
ETH 2417.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56