How do you start you drawings: with line art or with a shape? Artistic "holy war":)

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

When I went to drawing casses in traditional art my teacher was an adherent of starting the drawing with a line art. With building the shape, and seeking for correct proportions. 

But when I went to digital drawing classes my teacher there was an adherent of another vision, and told us always to start our drawings with  silhouette. So I learned how to do it differently.

Now when I'm free to make my own choise how to begin my drawings I still chose line art 99% of time. These are two completely different approaches, and I think they even lead to different results. 

This is an example of silhouette drawing exercise I made on my drawing classes. The task was to do it really quickly, not more then a minute for one shape. So, here I made sketches of a dog in different poses.

But usually I take another way, and then it looks like this, for example:

I prefer to know how my character will look before I start coloring and shading. And I want to be sure I didn't miss any detail. Of course in the shape version it also can be easily fixed, but for me it's more complicated. So, I start with a line art and then check out the shape filling it with black.

Anyway, during my digital classes I had to create a scene with background and several characters. It was long ago, and I decided to create WoW fan art. The required condition was to create the characters from shapes, and they looked like this:

And the final result looked like this:

So, there's a choise between clarity in details and the readable shape. I feel like starting with a line art I have more control. At the same time when I start with the shape it's more expressive. I think both methods have the right to live.

How do you prefer to start your art if you do?:)

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Nice lesson - (Heads up - Might of missed a letter or two in the tittle and first paragraph) Really great article keep up the good work - Your doing great! I like to start with a speed paint and then the line work. I like to mix it up though. Keep things interesting ya know. ha ha

+1 to line art:)

I'll try today!

Currently for my human/oids, with a 3d base XP

And then lineart.

It depends of the person, as i see it if the person has more affinity for drawing it will lineart first, but if it is more affiliate to painting it will begin with the shape.

I'd love to study more the "shape start", I yet don't feel comfortable with it. Thank you for your response!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73