Coin Art Series: 1.2/3

in #drawing6 years ago

So I had to scrap the first idea I had with the filigree along the the left edge of the "L" because it was starting to look weird in relation t the other details I was stating to add. Also I was thinking that if I ever wanted the designs to transfer and look good on an actual coin I would have to minimize the super fine line work a bit and favor thicker banding.

coin art 1.222.jpg

Here is one of the ways I play with ideas is by using a scrap piece of trace paper to put on top. If it jives I slide it underneath the main sheet and trace a nice version of it in there.

coin art 1.2222.jpg

I thought I liked this idea you see here (above) and when I actually put it in for real i hated it. So I began to manipulate it until I thought it made visual sense to me. The image below is where it stands now. I didn't want to go too long between these Coin art posts because it keeps me motivated.

coin art 1.22.jpg

I also wanted to point out that this is the pencil rendering phase. Which is only about 1/3 of the way done and looks a bit sketchy. I still have to add the words MIT/11X & scrypt in banners along the edges. I was thinking about adding a python in there somewhere but I'm not sure yet.

I am going to ink this in and crisp it up on a piece of vellum when the pencil part is done. This will be the real fun part for me because it will take a quarter of the time it takes to make the pencil version for obvious reasons. Thanks for looking. Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57378.99
ETH 3121.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24