Ghost Lady - Gothic Drama... Drawing Tutorial

in #drawing7 years ago

I really like spooky characters

I have done this drawing as a tutorial and hope you enjoy. Here is the finished drawing. Worked on the lighting in this drawing hoping to capture the soft light from the candle she holds. This was fun... Just a character sketch.
11-medghostlady-tutorial.jpg

Here is the finished drawing...(above)



1-medghostlady-tutorial.jpg

Let's start... (above)

An idea came to me - imagining a medieval lady roaming the halls of some huge castle - maybe as a ghost. She is mourning a lost love or an unrequited love... create the story however you wish.

So important starting point I wanted her head dipped on an angle. That's all I had at this point. Her hands wide as if pleading? Holding her skirt? Holding a ... something.

2-meghostlady-tutorial.jpg

Building The Structure - Clothing...(above)

At this point I was imagining the gown she would be wearing. Definitely medieval. Some dresses from that period were nothing more than layers of a shift underneath and differing weights of wool dresses over, depending on the temperature of the castle. They were often tied with a cord of some kind, wrapped in different ways.

So this is how I started building the structure of her dress. Often even the arms were wrapped to keep the long dragging sleeves under control. Oh fun with sleeves!

3-medghostlady-tutorial.jpg

Sleeves and planning what to do with the hair! (above)


5-medghostlady-tutorial.jpg

Adding The Hair...(above)

I guess I can see that this character is going in the direction of Mortisha from the Addams Family. Click Click. I always loved that show as a kid. Some of you may not know who that is... it's okay she became a classic goth character.

Long straight hair with a small crocheted kind of cap on her head... perhaps with small jewels hanging.

I am also starting to lay down graphite on the hair. Want it to be dark.

6-medghostlady-tutorial.jpg

Starting To Fill in - Adding Graphite...(above)

Really filling in now.

Oh... forgot to mention that I added the candle stick... and this is when I got the idea of playing with light as the exercise of this drawing. Remember I tell you usually to decide on the direction that the light is coming from - well with this character I have decided that the light is coming from the candle. This makes it more interesting.

So as I am laying down the graphite (or lowlights) I am making sure that it fits the plan for the candle light.

7-medghostlady-tutorial.jpg

Laying Down Graphite - Working On Plan For Lighting! (above)

Darkening and shading... leaving highlights.
Keeping the darker shading towards the left of the figure and imagining a circle of light hitting her body, face, hair from the right side - i.e. the candle.

8-medghostlady-tutorial.jpg

9-medghostlady-tutorial.jpg

More Shading and Leaving Highlights... (2 above)

11-medghostlady-tutorial.jpg

Finished

I like how this turned out, going to do some more characters with that gothic look.

Thanks for looking at the tutorial and as always I hope you continue to draw.

Logo-Steemit@GranBlock.jpg

Sort:  

I loved this tutorial @granblock! I'm not an artist myself, but you are quite talented and I enjoy your work. I liked reading about your thought process as this work progressed. She is beautiful, as was Mortisha Adams!

Thank you very much. I so appreciate when people not only look but read the tutorial. You know I like sharing the process, and sometimes I share my mistakes too. We are all learning and believe me I have been on a fascinating journey and really embarking on a lot more learning - encouraged by Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81