You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Umbash the king of the swamp

in #drawing6 years ago

hey, @papersmell.

I really enjoyed seeing each stage of the painting. And it's great that you actually have your own backstory to go with it. I think removing the horns was a good thing, and making the eyes look more lizard or snake like was the best choice, too.

I can see the resemblance to Jabba, and while that adds kind of a Star Wars element to this, the rest of the painting is definitely more fable in content and feel.

I also like the look on Umbash's face, like, What is this? or Not this guy again. He seems less menacing and more I just want to be left alone. A nice twist, I think. I can imagine the conversation that would commence between the hut dweller and Umbash.

Well done, and congratulations on the curie, too.

If you were to make more changes, or additions, what other details would you put in?

Sort:  

hey thank you so much for your comment - very much appreciated. i would probably add some more interesting vegetation maybe some more detail to plants in forground. maybe some fishing utensils like nets and traps and such.... :)

My pleasure.

Oh, okay. So 'liven' up the place more. I think it looks great now, but you're the artist, and ultimately, you need to be happy with it. There's always something that could be done. It seems like the trickiest part is knowing when it's done.

As I said, I think it has a mood all unto it's own now, but adding those things would give it more of a sense of life, in that things have been going on there prior to Umbash's arrival, and potentially making its presence standout even more.

Anyway, I wish you luck with whatever you decide to do with it. I think the idea of revitalizing old work is a good one.

i constantly pick up old ideas and draw them again until i´m more happy with the realization. but i got to be honest here : when i finish a personal piece i almost always say that i might come back to it later but then never do- i rather paint it all again in a different way which is good. if a piece is for a client it´s of course ready when i say it´s ready (even if if deep down i´m seldom convinced ) but when i just paint for myself i seem to have the necessity to announce that i can do it better later on which is kinda silly because as i said i never do. :D your comment helped me self-reflect. thank you ! :)

No problem! I think it's great to do things over. If it's anything like writing, you're constantly changing as a person and an artist, and so you're looking for a new challenge, or a different perspective, both literal and figurative, so I can see why going back and taking the main concept and coming up with something new would be worth it. There are things I have written years ago that I would totally rewrite now, so I understand that desire very well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52