Princess in Distress? I think not! - Fantasy Locations - step by step illustration

in #drawing6 years ago

Hello my friends. I recently finished this new addition to my online collection of RPG cartography. If you like maps, cartography or RPG games you are going to love this step by step pictorial of a lonely tower.

The elven kingdom is in peril because the king will soon die and his only daughter refuses to come back because she is studying astronomy with a mysterious man in a tower in the middle of a faraway forest. The man is a green dragon who seduced the princess and manipulates her to get the most gain from this situation.

To make matters worse, the princess is not a harmless child. She is a 500-year-old archmage. Hopefully, there will be a diplomatic solution to this quandary, because, green dragon + archmage = TPK.

the story might be something for another day, but you can read it here: https://www.elventower.com/archives/2886

Most of my stuff is done in photoshop with every element and color in a different layer for easy modification. I work with Photoshop and an Intuos Pro Wacom drawing tablet. Here is the finished illustration for reference:

13.jpg

Here's a quick animation of my creation process.

animation.gif

Here are the different pictograms from the animation, one by one. They depict my creation process. The first thing is the sketch, Then the inking of all the different map features. Then I work with color and the last part if decoration of the background.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg



I'm a graphic illustrator for tabletop RPG games like Dungeons and Dragons.

If you're interested in my work, take a look at my Patreon page

There is a pledge level that gives access to my photoshop source files, in case you wish to see my workflow and learn in the process.

optional text

Sort:  

Hello @derekvonzarovich, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

thanks a lot guys

I will have to use this in an upcomming game. Thanks for posting the process, it is always interesting.

you're welcome, thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01