Finished my Fantasy crypts - Come see the step-by-step process - Pictorial

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

Hey there, here's the finished illustration for my fantasy crypts map. I'm posting some pics I posted in a previous post, plus the coloring work because the illustration is finished now.

This is the finished illustration reference.
168 Ransacked Crypt-L.jpg

The sketch is first. The document is letter sized 300 DPI.
1.jpg

First thing I do is lay down the main walls I drew in the sketch.
2.jpg

I decided to draw the outside rocks of the wall for this map.
3.jpg

Now I add rocks, rubble, and a lot of coffins of different shapes.
4.jpg

Next, I draw all the small details in rocks and coffins. This is all in a different layer to facilitate the coloring process later on.
5.jpg

Now I draw the grid. It is implied in the form of floor tiles. The process is very open-ended, time-consuming and fun (for a while.
6.jpg

This is the finished lineart. I added annotations for the scale, border corners, and a title.
7.jpg

Here are some detail shots of the crypt at full resolution.
detail 1.png

detail 2.png

detail 3.png

Let's color! I start coloring the coffins.

8.jpg

Now I added a dotted texture to the walls and brown color.

9.jpg

Now I color the floor tiles. Notices that I used three or four hues for the tiles to give them different appearances.

10.jpg

I add one of my typical parchment backgrounds, next step is to color and decorate it to make it look fantastic.

11.jpg

And this is what we get! thanks for watching :D

168 Ransacked Crypt-L.jpg



I'm a graphic illustrator and I focus my work in tabletop RPG games like dungeons and dragons.

I'm new on Steemit but have great aims to share my work in posts like this one where people can see illustrations be created from the ground up.

banner2.jpg

Send some love, likes and follow me for awesome cartography illustrations.

I do this full time and I love creating fantastic locations !

If you're interested in my work, take a look at my Patreon page

There is a pledge level that gives access to my photoshop source files, in case you wish to see my workflow and learn in the process.

patreon_logo.png

optional text

Sort:  

Great map, thanks for sharing your process!

Do you format your maps in a special way for size... like for Virtual Tabletop apps? Or are they specifically intended for print quality?

They are all conforming to roll20 's specifications. That is 140 pixels per game square. They look well in print too.

Nice! Do you play games on Roll20 at all? I haven't actually played one yet myself.

Hi, sorry for the late reply. Yes I play on Roll20 twice a week. One is a D&D game and the other one is a Mouse Guard game.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58331.25
ETH 2509.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34