My 2015 drawing training - Mega Man 3

in #drawing8 years ago (edited)

     In 2015 I was a bit uncertain on how to approach drawing and what exactly I should do to improve. At the same time I was listening to a band called "The Megas", that played rock n' roll versions of classic MegaMan songs. Listening to their second album about the third MegaMan game, I decided that a good way to practice was to draw every boss from the 8 bit NES game. Here's the results.

All bosses

I started with a traditional drawing in paper of Topman, the game's easiest boss.

After that I bought a Wacom tablet, and decided to try to make a drawing in Gimp. That's when I drew Shadowman and Magnetman.

The tablet came with the license for a drawing program called ClipStudio Paint, and I tried to draw the next boss with it instead of Gimp. The results were Hardman and Sparkman. This time I also tried to paint the background, based on the boss fight rooms on the game.

Later I did Snakeman, which turned out to be my favorite drawing of them all.

I kept going and then I did Geminiman and Needleman.

And finally Protoman.

     After all of that, I made many other drawings, but I am kind of slacking a little bit with my drawings. I made many traditional drawings on my sketchbooks, trying to improve on the basics though. I like to think, looking at these drawings in a chronological order, that the effort payed the price. It's difficult for me to see if I really improved, but I at least like to look at all the bosses I drew in that year. Should I continue with thematic drawings and make other bosses of other games?

We need to continue!


Mosco's gallery:  deadmosco.deviantart.com


Sort:  

Love the drawings. Following for more art. :)

Love Megaman. Awesome last pic there.

I say do what calls to you. With your art style, some Ori and the Blind Forest maybe?

That game seems awesome :D
I will try to play it first then.

Oh, do it. Ori is the best platformer to come out in recent years. Gameplay, story and art are all top notch. One of my all time favourites.

I will look it up on steam now. So many games, so little time lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58474.85
ETH 2500.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39