Drawing Zero from Mega Man X

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

    After drawings the robot bosses from the original Mega Man games, more specifically from the third game of the series, I decided I wanted to draw Mega Man X robots and other characters. I didn't go through with it to the end because I found myself more or less obsessed with drawing only one robot over and over again, MMX's Zero.

    Zero was supposed to be the main character of the Mega Man X series, but a decision from Capcom to remake the blue design of the original blue robot from the NES games changed this. This, of course, didn't stop the creator of the game to put Zero as a character in the series. Zero is presented as the robot Mega Man X should strive to become. In the beginning of the game he is already capable of doing things that X will only be able to do if the player find most of the armor's parts. He is strong, quick, smart and reliable. He even saves X in the first stage, proving in a second that he is the best robot, but you can't play with him.

    The decision to make Zero the best, but not let the player be him is probably what made Zero such a liked character. I wanted to play with him, but couldn't, and had to wait until the 4th game of the series to be able to control the blond haired red Robot in a full game. Subsequent games made his participation more common, and he even got his own series in the GameBoy Advance. In the end he got what he was supposed to have since the first game of the X franchise. 


    When I tried to draw him, I experimented with different brushes in ClipStudio, and got different results. Some are OK, some are horrible. I tried to show here some of each. The last one was a drawing I did inspired in his last moment in the MMX game. After X defeat Vile, Zero dies in X's arms, passing his job as a fighter for Justice to his friend. Awesome game, awesome character. No wonder I couldn't draw anything else from the game.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57610.17
ETH 3118.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39