Underground Exploration

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, I am Inori and here I am to present to you guys this illustration that I did. It's an oil pastel illustration with the concept of "night sky". The subject "night sky" is really common in studying oil pastel and this illustration counts as one of the products of this "night sky" concept.





To twist the concept a little, I made my illustration a little more interesting by making an underground exploration scene along with the "night sky" concept. This illustration is more of as an abstract that will make the viewers have some kind of imagination play when they see it.

When they see this illustration, they will ask question like: "Where are they going?"; "What are they looking for?"; "Are there monsters in that underground cave?"; "Where are they?".

Those questions is a part of my work, I wanted to add some kind of mystery in the Illustration for entertainment value.

For the part of making it.



I used 5 colors of oil pastels for this work, they are black, white, cobalt blue, sky blue and navy blue. These colors do compliment each other really well since white and black are safe colors and the three blues are- ,well they are blues.

I rubbed cobalt blue across half the canvass.







Then added navy blue, the two blues cannot be distinguished here yet.




Started rubbing and blending the two colors until they are flat in color, I just wanted to make sure that most of the paper's textures will be filled so that I can blend the next layers of oil pastels easier. Its like the same thing when you wet the water color paper first before applying the actual paint.



I started this illustration upside down because I find it easier to imagine the sky this way.




I then started applying another layer of cobalt blue, from here, the difference of the blues will be seen easier.



My oil pastel broke here, hehe. I just rubbed them until they blend along with the other color until the colors of canvass are uniform in color.









Added black.






And added a new layer of navy blue.




And sky blue.




Then I flipped the illustration. I will be adding the silhouettes from here.




Making good silhouettes takes some practice, if you find making good human shapes with oil pastels frustrating, be easy on yourself and just keep on practicing




I added expressions to the human subjects to make the illustration more interesting. Simple things like hand and arm gestures are really useful for sceneries like this specially if there are multiple characters in the scene.










I just kept on adding details and subjects until I fill up the available spaces to avoid dead spaces.




Almost done here.




I rubbed white on the middle part of the illustration, this white will be the moon light effect for the illustration.




I just blended the white until its flat and straight like I wanted to.




And that's it, here is my underground exploration drawing.


Hope you guys liked this post that I made, I loved doing this one, I hope you guys liked this post too.


Everything here is mine except for the Youtube video, the video is from Yoroshika's official channel.

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies. Write less but write great original content, which is the key to success in Steemit. If you are using any image or video, cite proper source. Even if its your own image or video, it's worth mention the same. Also be careful to avoid duplicate posting.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat most of the time.

Liked this post.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team! Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!


You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

what is OCD?

ocd is a curating group they reward quality posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61839.57
ETH 3411.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52