Chalk Festival Time-Lapse Video of Marilyn Monroe Portrait

in #drawing7 years ago

At the end of this 6'x6' chalk portrait I looked like a coal miner and my legs felt like jello. Totally worth it :)

marilyn monroe christie snelson.jpg

I've been experimenting with time-lapse videos the last handful of months, and finally I was able to capture a piece start to finish. This is five hours of work sped up about 3000%.

The 2nd Annual Chalk & Arts Festival was benefiting FosterAdopt Connect SWMO, an organization with the mission to provide foster and adopted children a stable, loving and nurturing family environment by support and advocacy for abused and neglected children and the families caring for them. I did some research and found that Marilyn Monroe had spent a number of years of her childhood in foster homes. While she my not have had the best of situations, that's exactly why FosterAdopt exists.

Final_Marilyn Monroe Chalk Art_Christie Snelson.jpg

Here's a shot of my final product. I wanted to keep going but it was SO hot and I was SO tired. I kept reminding myself that it was just going to wash away.

That's the thing about chalk art: it's temporary. This event was originally scheduled last month, but the rain had it's own plan. Last night when everyone was just finishing up after a hot sunny day with hardly any clouds in the sky, there was a short downpour of rain just enough to wash the chalk away in the evening. I had some friends come to check it out in person right after the rain and they sent me this Snap. I think it still looks pretty cool!!

marilyn after rain.jpg

It was so much fun and I can hardly wait until next year! Thanks for looking, friends!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

Sort:  

WOW @Christiesnelson

Dear Christie. I have ment to write you a comment for some time now. I like your paintings very well. You are incredibly clever. Your paintins are amazing!!!

The reason I started looking at your posts was that I saw a painting of a cat. I'm a cat lover so that's like a magnet for me. It's really amazing how you do it... In your portraits of animals and humans, it's not just that they resemble, but you get the personality of those you paint too. Indescribable. I like all of your paintings, motives, thoughts behind, colors, techniques - yes everything about your work is admirable.

As if thats's not enough ... it seems like you are a very nice and pleasant person too :-)

Marilyn Monroe was amazing. It was very nice to read about the festival benefiting this FosterAdopt organization. It warms a social worker's heart. I work with youngsters who have different problems due to abuse and neglected care. I try to make their days a little better and ''their'' world a better place to be. It's a nice and meaningful job, but I would sure like to have your abilitys. Then I would paint all the time :)

I've been at your website. I will soon buy a nice poster or two. Maybe sometime in the future, I can order a painting of my cat. I just have to get a cat first.

... and have a nice day. Lots of love from Norway

Wow what a thoughtful comment. Thank you so much for all the kind words. My work is the love of my life, and my brain is tuned into it constantly. It's always my pleasure to use the skills I've acquired to help when I can, even if it means stepping outside my comfort zone and drawing with chalk :) I really love cats too (and painting them!!) I'm glad that's what stood out to you! More of those to come!!

that's really awesome, the effort and dedication to your art is mind-boggling :)


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


Hi! Thank you! I'm a bit obsessed haha. Sure, you may share it :)

Dumb rain!!! You continually impress me! Much love!!

Thanks, Mom! At least it rained at the end of the day instead of before the festival :) Love you!

wow, this is really awesome and you are very talented. I appreciate seeing different types of art but I haven't quite seen anything like this. It must be quite difficult to draw on an uneven surface like that but you make it look easy and i must say the detail is absolutely amazing.

Thank you! The uneven surface is one of the biggest challenges. I wore the gloves to help protect my hands, and I had to be mindful of the the values I laid down first since they sunk into the cracks to settle. Love a good challenge though :)

You got some serious skills and hard work and determination to boot. You are going places, keep doing great things :)

Thanks so much! I have such an awesome network of support that helps keeping me going, now including Steemit :) I appreciate the encouragement!!

Ay thats absolutely incredible. It is so powerful to have that support gets you thru the tough times. Props to you can't wait to see more :)

Super!. What a talent!:)

Congratulations @christiesnelson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66