How to draw Mary, the Mother of God, using Colored Pencils

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

Happy New Year!

I will show you today my drawing of Mary, the Mother of Jesus. But before that, let us know her first.
IMG_20180101_092317.jpg

WHO IS MARY OF NAZARETH?

Mary, also known by various titles, styles and honorifics, was a 1st-century BC Galilean Jewish woman of Nazareth, and the mother of Jesus, according to the New Testament and the Quran.
She is the daughter of St. Joaquim and St. Anne. She is also the cousin of St. Elizabeth, the mother of St. John the Baptist. (wikipedia)

Mary was a young Jewish woman who lived in Nazareth which is now called Israel. Mary grew up as a faithful, humble and obedient daughter because of her parents who are devout Jews.

It is believed that Mary was young when she said yes to God and became pregnant with God's son. Joseph, his betrothed, did not leave or shame her.

WHAT ARE THE IMPORTANT EVENTS OF THE LIFE OF MARY?

• Annunciation. The angel Gabriel announced to Mary that she will be the mother of Jesus, the son of God. Mary obediently said yes to God.

• Visitation. Mary though pregnant travelled a long distance to visit her pregnant cousin, Elizabeth, to help her out.

• Journey to Bethlehem. Mary journeyed to Bethlehem because the government required every family to return to their hometown to be counted for census.

• Birth of Jesus. Mary gave birth to Jesus in a stable.

• Flight to Egypt. Mary and Joseph escaped to Egypt because King Herod ordered to kill all the boys aged two years old and younger.

• Finding Jesus at the Temple. Mary and Joseph searched for Jesus for three days who was missing. They found him in the temple.

• Wedding Feast at Cana. Mary asked her son Jesus to help the couple who ran out with wine from embarrassment.

• Crucifixion. Mary was at the foot of the cross when Jesus was crucified and died.

• Pentecost. The Holy Spirit descended to Mary along with the apostles of Jesus.

• Assumption. Mary was believed to have assumed in heaven.

THE DRAWING

A. Materials and Tools Used:
• 8.5 x 11 Worx Fine Board
• Mechanical Pencil H-145 L Pilot
• Prismacolor Colored Pencils
• Cotton Buds
IMG_20180101_081536.jpg

B. The Drawing Process.

IMG_20171231_163112.jpg
• Sketch the outline of the subject. Do it using very fine lines because you do not want that the guidelines to be part of the drawing here. Keep your lines very light. I used mechanical pencil to give me fine lines.

IMG_20171231_165819.jpg
• Use the colored pencils to fill colors on the face. Be careful in selecting the colors for the face. You can use a scratch paper to check if the color suits the skin of your subject.

IMG_20171231_234028.jpg
• Color the head covering of Mary, our subject. This is because we are drawing from the top-left to the bottom right. I suggest that you do that technique if you are a right-handed person to avoid touching the finished parts while drawing.

IMG_20180101_074852.jpg
• Color the inner and outer clothing of Mary-
inner (red) then the outer (blue). I suggest that you color by sections. Divide the drawing into parts, by this you can be sure that you are using the same colors in every part. This tip is very useful if you are working with a lot of colored pencils.

IMG_20180101_092317.jpg
• Color the hands and do finishing touches. Then you are done with your artwork.

THE REASON WHY I CHOSE TO DRAW MARY:

Today is the first day of the year, and in the Roman Catholic Church we honor Mary for being the mother of Jesus. It is the most important title of Mary our Mother.

WHO IS MARY TO ME?

I grew up to be a Marian devotee. When I was a lad, my mother used to bring me in Dawn Rosary. When I was 9-12 years old, I used to attend class every Flores de Mayo in honor of Mary. When I reach high school, I became an altar server and a summer youth catechist in our Marian church called the Nativity of Mary Parish. I also joined in a religious organization in our school called the Mary Help of all Christians Crusade. This is the time when I learned how to pray the holy rosary and memorized all the mysteries of the holy rosary. Now, I am still doing service in the church as a lector and a youth member. I am a proud Marian devotee.

I believe that we have to honor Mary because she is the mother of Jesus, the son of God. The covenant of God might have not been made if not because of Mary. We have our Savior because we have Mary. Indeed, to God through Mary.

Likewise, I honor my mother because if not because of her, I wouldn't be who I am today. I owe all these to my parents.

¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
steemit 1.png

I hope you like this post and will support me in my journey to becoming an artist. This is the first time that I used colored pencils as a medium. I dedicate this to all of you!

Signing out,

@christianyocte

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @christianyocte to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Wow! Amazing work @christianocyte! Looks very realistic. Effortless kaayo tan awn haha.

Grew up in a Catholic Family as well, and Mary has been a part of our family ever since.

Thanks for your support and comments. :)

I wish to do more artworks now since stemit has given me this long time wish - PRISMACOLOR.

Happy New Year!

Just pure talent! Me either, I memorized all the mysteries started doing it when I was 5 until early 20s together with my siblings. These days I don’t pray the rosary but my devotion never ceases. I’m a devotee to Virgen dela Regla. She has made most of my prayers come true. ^^

First, Id like to thank you for dropping by here to comment. It means a lot to me.

Second, good that you have that strong faith of our Mother's intercessions.. Continue praying, buddy!

Awesome work! Did you draw mama marry from your imagination or did you copied it from a picture. My biggest difficulty is drawing through imagination, copying is so much easier for me. I really hope that I can change that soon and that I will improve my imaginaton haha

Hi, thank you for your compliment. Well, i refer to a picture to do that piece of artwork. I am also not good at imaginations. I think we are both on the same stage and level. Indeed, we still need to do more practices.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90